Chicken Kiev Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2007
This turned out pretty good. I followed the suggestions of others and fried them for about 6 minutes until they were browned and then baked them in the oven at 350 for about 20 minutes. I used 1/2 cup butter and 1.5 tsps garlic powder for the garlic butter. I also used fresh dill (about 1 Tablespoon but think I should have used more). One thing I didn't like is that the flour seemed to all come off in the egg mixture. Next time I think I might just mix the dill (etc) with the bread crumbs so I don't lose it all. It was also a whole lot of effort for dinner, but the taste was definitely worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Sandy, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2007
It was pretty good, but hard to handle. I couln't keep the butter inside the chicken. I deep fried for 5 minutes and then baked until cooked through.Over all not a bad recipe. I will make it again, but this time figure out a way to keep the butter inside
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2006
very good, was a little bit of a pain rolling but it was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2006
I have to disagree with everyone who said this recipe was 'easy'. To keep it short and sweet, be prepared. It was messy, time consuming (getting the chicken wrapped securely around those pats of butter is HARD....rolling the chicken breasts pierced with skewers/toothpicks in the coatings and getting them well-covered is even harder!!) and the end result was very bland. Maybe I should have used some salt (which is not listed anywhere in the recipe)??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy Pierce

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plymouth, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2005
This was quite easy to make although I couldn't taste the dill. Perhaps add more dill to the flour mixture next time. Also, I used pre-crushed corn flakes instead of bread crumbs which made it very crispy & yummy. More garlic wouldn't go astray. This recipe has definitely made it into our family's usual recipe box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by QUINNY2706

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2004
Never really realized exactly how easy Chicken Kiev was until I made this for one of our "The Amazing Race" dinners. Great flavor and something that adds that "extra something" without taking up any extra time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Concord, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2004
This recipe was very good. I used Italian bread crumbs to give the chicken a little more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lu

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Johns Creek, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2004
You all have to try Uncle Bill's recipes. He's great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2004
My husband and I just love it! I didn't have to change the recipe at all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Zimmerman, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2003
This is not as easy as those frozen ones you can buy but they taste a lot better. The steps in this recipe may make someone apprehensive but it wasn't as hard as it appears. I too used another's advice and fried for a few min and then baked until cooked through. I served over Uncle Ben's wild rice pilaf and a side of steamed veggies and it was very good. It worked great for a romantic dinner with my boyfriend and leftovers were ALMOST as good as the ones right out of the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chef John's Chicken Kiev

A classic and impressive chicken dish with a secret surprise inside.

Garlic Chicken Fried Chicken

See how to make garlicky chicken breasts cooked chicken fried steak-style.

Tarragon Chicken

What's cooking in Bellevue? An authentic, yet modern, French classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States