Chicken Kiev Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2013
Wonderful recipe with great flavor! A little time-consuming but well worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2012
Serve with SOUR CREAM, it tastes awesome with Chicken Kiev.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Abraham Yaksich

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
Third time's the charm. I've tried to make Chicken Kiev before and failed, this time it worked, but not as written. Used Stardust_331's tip about browning, then baking, and Tracy32999: So, they didn't use salt, if everyone jumps off a bridge, are you going to jump too? Of course you should add salt!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tom Sobieski

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Flushing, New York, USA
Living In: Zacatecas, Zacatecas, Mexico
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
Chicken Kiev is so so good!! Have made it for over 40 years, and never tire of it. It's a delightful "company" dish! But please, use real garlic, not garlic powder. It's easy and tastes so much better! With real garlic, this would be 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
4.5 stars. First time with this particular recipe. Followed both the original recipe and several of the suggestions offered in the reviews. These included: adding more dill, more garlic and added cheese---babybel bonbel (those little wrapped round cheeses). I found making more butter mixture and cutting them into very small pieces made it much easy to roll the chicken---same for the cheese. Cooking string helped keeped things together better than toothpix. Try adding a little of the dill and parsley mixture inside the chicken before rolling it up. Served with seasoned broccoli rice florets.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eric Meyer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
This does take time. . . and is in my opinion tough. . however that being said it is not impossible to pull off. A few things, make sure your oil isn't too HOT! my poor guys burned in a minute. . .still good but not cooked and they had to be finished in the oven. Second, I would make a garlic sauce to go over them to save the flavor if your butter disappeared. Some salt wouldn't go astray in this dish. Basically don't expect to get it right first try. . .experiment lol And more dill!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fieemully

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
Chicken was very moist. I brinned it for 3 hours prior to preparation. Couldn't really taste the dill or the garlic - recommend using more of each and probably coating the outside just prior to the flour. Also I think cheese like fontina would be a great addition. I pre-softened the butter for 15 seconds in the microwave which helped blend the ingredients and shape it into the required rectangle. Also cooked in a pot instead of a pan. The oil was higher 2/3 up the rolled breasts and six minutes worked perfectly on both sides. Got a great brown this way as well. If you don't use cheese recommend a little salt. This dish has an excellent look just needs a little more flavor. I didn't use fresh dill (rather out of container) probably a mistake. I also might use boiled fresh garlic in the butter mixture next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2011
I didn't really care for this recipe. Although it was easy, there was a lot of different steps that made it time consuming and involved for anyone making this for their family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2011
These weren't terribly difficult to make but we thought they tasted good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DANIELLE BEATTY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Davenport, Iowa, USA
Living In: Ankeny, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2011
Made this tonight for my family!!! What a hit!! We used Crisco instead of vegetable oil, it fries so much better. I fried and then baked as others suggested. My family LOVED it! Even if some of the butter escapes, it flavors the chicken enough that its not a huge deal! Very good! We will make a again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JillieG

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Chicken Kiev

A classic and impressive chicken dish with a secret surprise inside.

Garlic Chicken Fried Chicken

See how to make garlicky chicken breasts cooked chicken fried steak-style.

Tarragon Chicken

What's cooking in Bellevue? An authentic, yet modern, French classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States