Chicken Katsu Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2005
I used pork cutlet to make Tonkatsu and it turned out perfect! Crispy outside and moist and tender inside. I used olive oil for frying. Served with white rice, tonkatsu sauce, and cabbage salad. Perfect combination. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2004
Tasty and easy! The chicken came out nice and crunchy. The oil heating directions were right on the mark - my stove comes with a 'medium-high' setting. Another tip - put in the tip of a chop stick. If bubbles come from the chop stick, the oil is ready. My husband and I really enjoyed this and I'll make it again. The leftover chicken was still crunchy after refrigeration!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2006
Great recipe! The chicken katsu came out crunchy and delicious. (ETA: I slice the chicken breast to three or four thin fillets instead of pounding them.) The only thing I would suggest is to pre-heat the oil on medium heat then reduce it to low-medium for the actual frying; 3 minutes on medium-high heat pretty much blackened my panko crumbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
276 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meryl

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: San Juan, National Capital Region, Philippines
Living In: Berkeley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2006
This was really good and so easy to make. I have never used panko bread crumbs before and didn't think they tasted too much different, just a tad sweeter. The coating was definitely crunchier than usual. The only drawback was while frying, the house had a fishy smell! Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BABSKITCHEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2006
I found panko breadcrumbs at a Wild Oats grocery store here in northeast Ohio. They are wonderful! Everything you fry turns out so light and crispy. The whole family loved this chicken. I served it with spicy Tonkatsu sauce (1/2 c. Worcestershire sauce, 1/4 c. ketchup, 2 T. light soy sauce) drizzled over and finely chopped green onion to garnish. We had steamed white rice and stir-fried veggies on the side. My boys asked when I'd make this dinner again... that's the sure sign of a winner! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ashtabula, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by FOODGU1
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2005
Appears as if you'll have yourself a pretty simple and basic meal... chicken, flour, breadcrumbs, etc. But WOW! This was far more flavorful than I was expecting! As someone else commented, the panko crumbs make a huge difference vs. regular bread crumbs. Very easy to make, very enjoyable to eat! I'm looking forward to having this again! Thanks for sharing your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FOODGU1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2006
I LOVED this recipe. The chicken was super tasty! It was so simple, yet really flavorful. I too fried it in olive oil, and we topped ours with sweet and sour sauce. It was SOOO good! I'll never cook chicken breasts with any other coating. This was my first try with Panko, but what a difference it made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BreeAnn

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Palmer, Alaska, USA
Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2006
wow,wow,and..............WOW!!!! Panko rocks. I looked at this recipe and went,eh, I bought into the fad now gotta use them up..and I will NEVER fry without them again!! They were soooo good!! Found the tonkatsu sauce on this recipe on this site too. Its like eating out at a Japenese restaraunt at home! YUMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BajaValle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2006
Thank you! Just like Mom's!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GRANNYLOOHOO
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2006
First of all, my husband gave this a 10, so thanks for that, SakuraGirl1! I marinated my chicken first in Zippy-Zoo Marinade (on this site), because I was afraid the chicken might be too bland otherwise. The marinade was excellent, as was the taste, but my husband & I agreed that next time we will not marinate--just not necessary. The chicken was tender and delicately crispy. I had to use more flour, maybe because I cut my chicken into smaller portions. I used vegetable oil, but next time I will use a combination of olive oil and butter. My husband wondered how this would be as batter for chicken fried steak, so I will try it on that as well. One of the best recipes I have found on AR!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRANNYLOOHOO

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Bixby, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Magnolia, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 403) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Orange Chicken

Discover a healthier version of spicy orange chicken.

Tender Pan-Fried Chicken Breasts

They go from stovetop to oven, and come out super moist and tender.

General Tsao's Chicken II

Mouthwatering fried chicken in a slightly sweet and spicy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States