Chicken Katsu Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2007
Winner Dinner! Everyone loved this. I ended up having to change it a bit when I realized I didn't have enough chicken breasts for 6 of us & had to stretch it. Instead of full breats, I cubed it in 1"-2" pieces and then followed the recipe directions (including pounding them)--however, this change did require using more flour/egg/panko bread crumbs. Basically I ended up making chicken type nuggets (only better!). Places the nuggets over Jasmine rice & topped with Sweet & Sour sauce: 3/4 c. white sugar, 2T. brown sugar, 1/3 c. white vinager, 2/3 c. unsweetened pineapple juice (save chunks), 1/4 c. soy sauce, 1T. Ketchup, 2T. cornstarch. Boil until thickened and then I added 1 thinly sliced green pepper & cut up pineapple chuncks. Topped with sliced green onion. Fed my family of 6 for a lot less $$$$ then the local Chinese carry-out & they said they liked mine better! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
422 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tizzylizz
Home Town: Milford, Michigan, USA
Living In: Apex, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2006
Great recipe! The chicken katsu came out crunchy and delicious. (ETA: I slice the chicken breast to three or four thin fillets instead of pounding them.) The only thing I would suggest is to pre-heat the oil on medium heat then reduce it to low-medium for the actual frying; 3 minutes on medium-high heat pretty much blackened my panko crumbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
293 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meryl

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: San Juan, National Capital Region, Philippines
Living In: Berkeley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2007
My mom and I both made this dish. As written it is good but a little bland and since several in our family don't want to cover their food with sauce, the second time we made she used 1 cup of hot sauce, 1/3 cup of cold water, garlic powder, salt and black pepper and three eggs. She then dredged her chicken in flour then dipped it into the hot sauce mix, then the panko crumbs then fried. This added a nice flavor, it was not hot. I just rubbed a mix of spices into the chicken and fried. Both families loved it with the extra flavors. The panko crumbs are a must. We plan on trying this dish by baking. Wonderful recipe. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
234 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2006
I found panko breadcrumbs at a Wild Oats grocery store here in northeast Ohio. They are wonderful! Everything you fry turns out so light and crispy. The whole family loved this chicken. I served it with spicy Tonkatsu sauce (1/2 c. Worcestershire sauce, 1/4 c. ketchup, 2 T. light soy sauce) drizzled over and finely chopped green onion to garnish. We had steamed white rice and stir-fried veggies on the side. My boys asked when I'd make this dinner again... that's the sure sign of a winner! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ashtabula, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cardamum
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2007
Very good! My husband made this and followed the directions, although he ended up needing more of all the breading ingredients, and used less oil for frying. It seems like everyone has a tonkatsu sauce recipe. Here's mine for a tangy, yummy sauce: 1/4 c. ketchup, 1/3 c. soy sauce, 1/4 c. worchester sauce, 1 tbsp hoisin sauce, garlic powder and pepper to taste. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cardamum

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2004
Tasty and easy! The chicken came out nice and crunchy. The oil heating directions were right on the mark - my stove comes with a 'medium-high' setting. Another tip - put in the tip of a chop stick. If bubbles come from the chop stick, the oil is ready. My husband and I really enjoyed this and I'll make it again. The leftover chicken was still crunchy after refrigeration!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2007
Great! Feels like I am eating shrimp. Maybe next time I will try coconut with it. It definatly needs dipping sauce. we tried sweet and sour sauce 2 and Tonkatsu sauce. They were ok with it but next time I will try the sauce we use with shrimp. 1 cup of sugar, 1/2 a cup of vinegar, 3 tablespoons of soy sauce and 3 tablespoons of water. Cook in a small pot for about 10 minutes. http://allrecipes.com/Recipe/Sweet-and-Sour-Drumettes/Detail.aspx
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2007
My family loves this! I add a bit of garlic powder to regular flower mix to add a little bit of twist and it is just delicious~ Also, Katsu sauce by Kikkoman is just great with this~
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2006
This was great! I absolutely love Panko bread crumbs...it is the best! I did make one alteration and that was to cook my chicken in butter. It was soooo good! Thanks for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2007
This was delicious. I served this with a side of chicken fried rice and a cabbage salad, which I made using a bag of cole slaw mix and used the dressing from the Asian Chicken Salad recipe on this site to pour over the cole slaw. I also used another reviewer's tonkatsu sauce recipe, to dip the chicken. This meal will become a part of my dinner rotation, for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Greenwood Lake, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 428) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Orange Chicken

Discover a healthier version of spicy orange chicken.

Tender Pan-Fried Chicken Breasts

They go from stovetop to oven, and come out super moist and tender.

General Tsao's Chicken II

Mouthwatering fried chicken in a slightly sweet and spicy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States