Chicken Katsu Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2004
Tasty and easy! The chicken came out nice and crunchy. The oil heating directions were right on the mark - my stove comes with a 'medium-high' setting. Another tip - put in the tip of a chop stick. If bubbles come from the chop stick, the oil is ready. My husband and I really enjoyed this and I'll make it again. The leftover chicken was still crunchy after refrigeration!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2004
This is simple, quick and DELICIOUS! I don't think we'll make chicken cutlets any other way. I can't believe what a difference the panko bread crumbs make. We leave the breasts a little thicker (closer to 1/2 inch), and they turn out juicy AND crispy. Yummm! Thanks for sharing this recipe with us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scituate, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2005
I used pork cutlet to make Tonkatsu and it turned out perfect! Crispy outside and moist and tender inside. I used olive oil for frying. Served with white rice, tonkatsu sauce, and cabbage salad. Perfect combination. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2005
the chicken was good, not spectacular. i used alot more than 1 cup of panko crumbs, more like 2 cups. i would make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by FOODGU1
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2005
Appears as if you'll have yourself a pretty simple and basic meal... chicken, flour, breadcrumbs, etc. But WOW! This was far more flavorful than I was expecting! As someone else commented, the panko crumbs make a huge difference vs. regular bread crumbs. Very easy to make, very enjoyable to eat! I'm looking forward to having this again! Thanks for sharing your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FOODGU1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2006
I LOVED this recipe. The chicken was super tasty! It was so simple, yet really flavorful. I too fried it in olive oil, and we topped ours with sweet and sour sauce. It was SOOO good! I'll never cook chicken breasts with any other coating. This was my first try with Panko, but what a difference it made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BreeAnn

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Palmer, Alaska, USA
Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2006
Great recipe! The chicken katsu came out crunchy and delicious. (ETA: I slice the chicken breast to three or four thin fillets instead of pounding them.) The only thing I would suggest is to pre-heat the oil on medium heat then reduce it to low-medium for the actual frying; 3 minutes on medium-high heat pretty much blackened my panko crumbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
293 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meryl

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: San Juan, National Capital Region, Philippines
Living In: Berkeley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2006
wow,wow,and..............WOW!!!! Panko rocks. I looked at this recipe and went,eh, I bought into the fad now gotta use them up..and I will NEVER fry without them again!! They were soooo good!! Found the tonkatsu sauce on this recipe on this site too. Its like eating out at a Japenese restaraunt at home! YUMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BajaValle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2006
Thank you! Just like Mom's!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2006
it's so, so easy to make with few ingredients and it taste so good. i usually dip this in sweet and sour sauce or dongkatsu sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flushing, New York, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 428) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Orange Chicken

Discover a healthier version of spicy orange chicken.

Tender Pan-Fried Chicken Breasts

They go from stovetop to oven, and come out super moist and tender.

General Tsao's Chicken II

Mouthwatering fried chicken in a slightly sweet and spicy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States