Chicken Katsu Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2013
Indifferent to this dish. Not bad but nothing special to me. Made it twice but I think I am done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Airca

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hendersonville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2013
Season as roasted chicken first. then bread. Best chicken I ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gavin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
SUPER YUM-o!!! Both my hubs and I REALLY enjoyed this. When paired with Soifua's tonkatsu / katsu sauce, this is the BOMB!!! The key is to drizzle just a touch of sauce over your chicken (FYI, a little sauce goes a LONG way...). Another tip I have to share has to do with frying your chicken. One reviewer commented that medium-high heat was a touch too hot and that her chicken got REALLY brown on this setting. I fried my chicken (cutlets) on medium-high for 3.5 minutes per side and they were perfect - a beautiful golden brown color, crisp on the outside, tender thruout and VERY tasty! I just wanted to comment that I followed sakuraiiko's directions to the letter and was thoroughly pleased with the outcome. Use whatever heat setting works for you, but do know that this recipe is perfect as is (IMHO). For a little something special, try serving your chicken sliced (on the diagonal) atop a bed of shredded Napa cabbage with a drizzle of katsu sauce and a sprinkling of chopped scallion (Mmmmm...). Steamed rice is a perfect (and simple!) complement. Thanks SO much for sharing your recipe, sakuraiiko. I added this to my "keeper" file after just one bite! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
So yummy and crunchy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diedra

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Belleville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
This recipe was great!! I brown then chicken breast on the stove top for the crunch, then finished them off in the oven at 350 for about 10 minutes. Made some brown rice and mixed veggies and topped with the Katsu sauce.. Family loved it! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
Very good recipe. I was looking for Panko bread crumbs and found a lemon pepper kind so I used that. It made the chicken great without any sauce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2012
I've made this recipe twice now, and both times it's been simply fantastic. I mix the salt and pepper with the flour before dredging the chicken, and I cook the chicken in a nice big cast iron skillet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gresham, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2012
This recipe is great! We usually have katsu and/or tonkatsu once every couple of weeks. This recipe is also good for making pork tenderloin, just fry it up, put it on a bun with mayo and whatever else you like (lettuce, tomato, pickles, etc...) and it's just as good as any you'd find at the county fair! For those complaining about blandness, this is meant to be eaten with katsu sauce, so look up a recipe for that and you will find the flavor you are searching for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2012
Really good....family loved it...I ended up finding Italian style panko crumbs so this chicken was not lacking flavor at all. Kids used ketchup or ranch dressing for dipping. Crispy and yummy. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
This is a good recipe to start with, but if prepared as written, it's bland. I will try it again, but will kick it up several notches with some herbs and seasonings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KellyC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Hamilton, Montana, USA

Displaying results 71-80 (of 433) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Katsu

A Japanese style pan-fried chicken.

Spicy Orange Chicken

Discover a healthier version of spicy orange chicken.

Tender Pan-Fried Chicken Breasts

They go from stovetop to oven, and come out super moist and tender.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States