Chicken Katsu Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
Good, but better because I added spices to the egg mixture. It would have been pretty bland other wise, but I really good recipe to learn how to make the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2013
Even though I always knew the basics for this recipe (I'm half-Japanese), I've always shied away from frying foods after a particularly bad frying incident. I took my time, though, and made sure to get the oil hot enough on medium-high heat (on my stove, a 7). I then tested out the oil by sticking a chopstick in the oil and saw bubbles (great tip from another reviewer!). I took down the heat a smidge to a 6 (thanks to the suggestion of another user), and went for it! I was using a 12 inch skillet, but fried two at a time so they could have plenty of room. I went for 4 to 5 minutes on each side. Results were perfect! My family was very impressed and said it was one of the best meals I've ever made (served with white rice, Asian salad, and some mixed vegetables).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2013
I was taught to make this recipe by my dear Japanese friend and immediately saw the mistakes. Slice the chicken thin so it cooks faster. Dry the chicken and the sprinkle on both sides some garlic powder, salt, & pepper. Mix the egg with a teaspoon of Oyster Sauce. AND!!! Eliminate the flour. Much better. My family freaks out every time I make my version. Not bland at all and can be reheated the next day for a quick snack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2013
Kids, husband, we all loved it. Great crisp taste without the deep frying. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erica Petrucci

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2013
This was an EXCELLENT recipe. I gave it an Italian twist with herbs and served with a Rosemary infused Mushrom Rissoto. A glorious glass of white wine and life is good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Downey, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2013
Awesome! Serving it with an Asian curry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2013
Perfect for us on frozen Chicken Tenderloin portions. As always, cook it once as the Poster of the recipe lists it. Which is perfect and crunchy and mild so you can taste the chicken. Subsequently add your family's favorite seasonings. Also excellent on sliced Pork Tenderloin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2013
This is fine, nothing special. It's what I'd call an easy go-to recipe for chicken, in fact I believe it's what's on the box of Panko crumbs. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by delish

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2013
Excellent recipe. My advice is to use the Kikkoman Katsu sauce. Goes excellent with the chicken. You can buy it at an Asian grocery store.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2013
Easy and delicious!! I double breaded in egg and in the panel crumbs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 431) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Orange Chicken

Discover a healthier version of spicy orange chicken.

Tender Pan-Fried Chicken Breasts

They go from stovetop to oven, and come out super moist and tender.

General Tsao's Chicken II

Mouthwatering fried chicken in a slightly sweet and spicy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States