Chicken Kathleen Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2008
I used leftover jasmine rice instead of yellow, substituted a can of cheddar soup in place of one of the cans of cream of chicken, and omitted the bread crumb topping. The casserole wasn't terribly exciting, but a good, solid, meal with plenty of leftovers for my husband and me and it should reheat well. This dish is a great way to use up leftover rice and/or chicken. Or, if you left out the chicken and added a second bag of broccoli, it would make a nice side dish. I will make this again, but not all the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lakewood, New York, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2008
Could use about half the amount of bread crumbs. Other wise it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2008
This tasted pretty good. I did change a couple of things like omitting the butter, using chicken flavoured rice rather than yellow rice, and adding more broccoli. Something doesn't quite taste right, not that this tastes bad, but can't think of what I could change to make this a 5 star recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2008
I thought it was a bit bland. I wouldn't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2007
I prepared just as you said to and it was delicious. The 5 year old was even impressed! Lots of color! I would like to know if anyone has tried it with a can of cream of cheddar substituted for one of the cream of chicken? I may try that next.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Norwich, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2007
This was very good; I changed it quite a bit, though. I used leftover chicken & rice (to cut down on prep time), and completely cut out the butter & bread crumbs, in order to cut down on the salt & calories. It was still delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JenNortheast

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2007
Good taste. Could be easier in preparation by mixing everything except the bread crumbs and butter together and putting it in the pan. Sprinkle bread crumbs on top and dot with pieces of butter. Butter will melt as casserole bakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2007
This is a very yummy easy to make dish. It went over well with all the kids too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2007
Giving it three stars as it was a good base to work from but all the butter and can soup turned me off. My changes: Cooked one cup rice in chicken broth, made my own cream sauce (2tbl butter, 2tbl flour, one cup chicken broth, 1/2 cup milk, 1/2 cup half & half, 8 oz cheese, pepper, onion powder and garlic powder). Made 3/4 cup breadcrumbs from homemade italian croutons and skipped the butter and skipped greasing the pan. It was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2007
To cut time in half, we purchased the ready to cook chicken from Tyson. We only used one cup of breadcrumbs and it was still too salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Easy Chicken Tetrazzini

See how to make an easy baked chicken tetrazzini.

Oh-So-Good Chicken

This cheesy chicken and rice casserole stars salsa, sour cream, and mushrooms.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States