Chicken Kathleen Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2009
My sister sent me this recipe after she tried it and really like it and it's become one of my favorite casseroles. I've tried lots of different variations - frozen peas, frozen squash/zucchini, or frozen green beans instead of the frozen broccoli; canned chicken or leftover grilled chicken for the cubed chicken; and different types of cracker crumbs instead of the buttered bread crumbs. I like using leftover grilled chicken because it gives the whole casserole more flavor than using plain cooked chicken. Also, I have found that using crushed Ritz crackers (reduced fat) instead of the buttered bread crumbs tastes just as good and cuts out the butter in the recipe. I usually keep all the ingredients for this great casserole on hand and can put it together fairly quickly and pop it in the oven. It also freezes really well and the leftovers are fantastic! Thanks, Kathleen, for this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate R

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Nacogdoches, Texas, USA
Living In: Lufkin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2008
My husband and I go back to this recipe over and over again and we love it every time! We switch it up by adding whichever steamed veggies sound good to us that day. Only steam them about halfway since the vegetables will finish cooking in the oven. We also use one can of cream of mushroom and one can of cream of chicken soup as suggested by an earlier poster. We get the low sodium/low fat kind of soups so we feel a little better about all the cheese we add to the top!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2008
I used leftover jasmine rice instead of yellow, substituted a can of cheddar soup in place of one of the cans of cream of chicken, and omitted the bread crumb topping. The casserole wasn't terribly exciting, but a good, solid, meal with plenty of leftovers for my husband and me and it should reheat well. This dish is a great way to use up leftover rice and/or chicken. Or, if you left out the chicken and added a second bag of broccoli, it would make a nice side dish. I will make this again, but not all the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lakewood, New York, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2008
Could use about half the amount of bread crumbs. Other wise it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2008
This tasted pretty good. I did change a couple of things like omitting the butter, using chicken flavoured rice rather than yellow rice, and adding more broccoli. Something doesn't quite taste right, not that this tastes bad, but can't think of what I could change to make this a 5 star recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2008
I thought it was a bit bland. I wouldn't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2007
I prepared just as you said to and it was delicious. The 5 year old was even impressed! Lots of color! I would like to know if anyone has tried it with a can of cream of cheddar substituted for one of the cream of chicken? I may try that next.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pete

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Norwich, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2007
This was very good; I changed it quite a bit, though. I used leftover chicken & rice (to cut down on prep time), and completely cut out the butter & bread crumbs, in order to cut down on the salt & calories. It was still delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JenNortheast

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2007
Good taste. Could be easier in preparation by mixing everything except the bread crumbs and butter together and putting it in the pan. Sprinkle bread crumbs on top and dot with pieces of butter. Butter will melt as casserole bakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2007
This is a very yummy easy to make dish. It went over well with all the kids too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Oh-So-Good Chicken

This cheesy chicken and rice casserole stars salsa, sour cream, and mushrooms.

Garlic Cheddar Chicken

See how to make a simple, top-rated baked chicken recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States