Chicken Kabobs Mexicana Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2011
They looked beautiful and tasted great except that the chicken was a little dry and I grilled on med-high for around 10 min. Black beans on the side went great. It is more a recipe for 2 than 4.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by OkinawanPrincess
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2011
Tasty dish! I doubled the marinade and split it into two, using one half for the vegetables, the other for the cubed chicken meat. I added some chopped garlic to the marinade. I marinated everything for a couple of hours. Grilling time was approximate. The aroma smelled wonderful while the chicken cooked on the grill. The chicken was tender, juicy and fresh tasting. The vegetables were lightly seasoned with the marinade. The colors of the zucchini and cherry tomatoes were vibrant and made for a pretty dish. There was just enough ground cumin in the marinade, not overpowering at all, mixed well with the lime juice and olive oil. I loved the simple fresh blend of flavors. I served this with, "Mexican Rice III," and "Best Black Beans," also from this website. Thank you for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OkinawanPrincess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
Good but not great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
We substituted beef for chicken, and I should have marinated it overnight instead of only half a day. (The meat was a little tough). Also, we used bell pepper, zucchini, and mushrooms for the veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sunshine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2011
For us, there was nothing Mexican about this dish unless you count the cilantro so I don't know why it's so-named. Cilantro is just as popular in Thai cuisine, but oh well. I made this as written, but followed others' suggestion and marinated the chicken chunks for 24 hours. We liked the flavors, but again, this IS NOT Mexican so if that's what you're looking for, keep looking. I'll probably make this again, but then again, maybe not. Thanks for the submission anyway!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eureka, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2011
Very good. Followed the recipe exactly. Next time I might double the marinade and also marinate the vegetables.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
This was perfect! The marinade was amazing...I took advice from other reviews and added 2 minced cloves of garlic to the marinade. I also made twice as much and marinated the veggies and chicken separately for at least an hour then grilled. Perfect and light. I made black bean and corn quinoa to go along with and it made the perfect southwestern dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2011
This was my first stab (pun intended) at kabobs, and it wasn't too bad. My husband liked it much better than I did; I found it slightly bland. I'll probably try this again, because it's so healthy. I just need to find the right side dish (we tried the salsa and warm tortillas; I didn't like it at all). I'll cut the zucchini thinner and make the chicken cubes smaller as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2011
The lime flavor was a little strong but I really liked this dish. We eat so much chicken we should have feathers, and this was a great alternative to the same-old same-old. We will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2011
marinade was good but kids wouldn't eat it. Should make more marinade and do veggies too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 124) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chili Lime Chicken Kabobs

See how to make a quick, flavorful marinade for grilled chicken kabobs.

Yummy Honey Chicken Kabobs

See how to grill sweet and savory chicken and veggie kabobs.

Rosemary Ranch Chicken Kabobs

See how to make a rosemary and ranch-dressing marinade for chicken kabobs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States