Chicken Jerusalem II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
My mother-in-law made chicken Jerusalem in the '60s. Her recipe calls for sweet sherry instead of wine and a little nutmeg. The sherry gives the dish a wonderful flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
I've made this twice. The first was exactly as written & it was GREAT! The second time, I made it as written but cut the chicken in small pieces & cooked in the sauce. Served over egg noodles. Both times, I have cooked the sauce for quite a while & I have not had a problem with the thickness. The sauce is incredible & I imagine it would go with beef as well as chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
This is probably a personal preference, but I don't really care for the overall taste of this dish... The sourness of the artichoke and the cream sauce just doesn't sit well with me...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merlion

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2012
This is a great recipie! I made it last night for my family and they loved it... I used fresh mushrooms instead of canned and added extra artichokes because we love them! I did cheat a little and use some cornstarch mixed with water to thicken the sauce but i let it reduce a whole lot before I added cornstarch. It never got thick enough but the flavor of the sauce was excellent. I used a cheap 3 dollar chardonnay and it gave it great flavor. I also used boneless thigh pieces instead of chicken breast as our family has to have all moist meat. I bet the breast would be moist too but we cant chance it in our home. Over all great recipie and very yummy dish... i recommend it !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2012
Wowza! This was awesome! I made the recipe as written. Thank you for a "keeper".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Palm Springs, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2012
The recipe is easy, tasty, and something different! I love this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nick & jody

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
I was actually disappointed with this dish - I love all of the ingredients so I thought it couldn't be bad. However I found the wine to lose it's flavor and overall it was boring. Not hard to make, and I was really looking forward to it - I served it with some Jasmine rice and braised brussel sprouts. The veggies were the winner for my family...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2010
Rather than bake the chicken. I followed previous reviews about the sauce and browned the chicken first. I finished cooking the chicken in the sauce as it thickened. Great recipe thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chuck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
Not too crazy about it, but it was pretty good. I Love the ingredients in other things, but they didn't seem to come together so much in this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2010
Absolutely delicious. And easy, easy, easy. I used those idividually frozen chicken breasts for simplicity, and since they had to bake a bit longer, I had plenty of time to let the chicken stock reduce. Take the time to reduce, folks.... that's what gives your kitchen/house time to start smelling so great! I read one review about it being 'too salty,' but since this recipe only calls for 'salt to taste,' how can you blame the recipe? Next time, I will use half-and-half instead of heavy cream. I used one small boiler onion (because I don't like having stinky half-onions hanging around my house), and when I added the cream, I added one chopped fresh tomato for color. A little fresh spinach might be yummy too. Yum Yum Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Garlic-Lemon Double Stuffed Chicken

See how to make cheese-stuffed chicken breasts drenched with a lemon-butter sauce

Grandma's Chicken Chardon

Watch how to make breaded chicken with lemon-butter and mushrooms.

Chicken a la Mayo

See how to make succulent baked chicken with a crispy, corn flake crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States