Chicken Jerusalem II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
My mother-in-law made chicken Jerusalem in the '60s. Her recipe calls for sweet sherry instead of wine and a little nutmeg. The sherry gives the dish a wonderful flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
I've made this twice. The first was exactly as written & it was GREAT! The second time, I made it as written but cut the chicken in small pieces & cooked in the sauce. Served over egg noodles. Both times, I have cooked the sauce for quite a while & I have not had a problem with the thickness. The sauce is incredible & I imagine it would go with beef as well as chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
This is probably a personal preference, but I don't really care for the overall taste of this dish... The sourness of the artichoke and the cream sauce just doesn't sit well with me...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merlion

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2012
This is a great recipie! I made it last night for my family and they loved it... I used fresh mushrooms instead of canned and added extra artichokes because we love them! I did cheat a little and use some cornstarch mixed with water to thicken the sauce but i let it reduce a whole lot before I added cornstarch. It never got thick enough but the flavor of the sauce was excellent. I used a cheap 3 dollar chardonnay and it gave it great flavor. I also used boneless thigh pieces instead of chicken breast as our family has to have all moist meat. I bet the breast would be moist too but we cant chance it in our home. Over all great recipie and very yummy dish... i recommend it !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2012
Wowza! This was awesome! I made the recipe as written. Thank you for a "keeper".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Palm Springs, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2012
The recipe is easy, tasty, and something different! I love this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nick & jody

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
I was actually disappointed with this dish - I love all of the ingredients so I thought it couldn't be bad. However I found the wine to lose it's flavor and overall it was boring. Not hard to make, and I was really looking forward to it - I served it with some Jasmine rice and braised brussel sprouts. The veggies were the winner for my family...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2010
Rather than bake the chicken. I followed previous reviews about the sauce and browned the chicken first. I finished cooking the chicken in the sauce as it thickened. Great recipe thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chuck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
Not too crazy about it, but it was pretty good. I Love the ingredients in other things, but they didn't seem to come together so much in this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2010
Absolutely delicious. And easy, easy, easy. I used those idividually frozen chicken breasts for simplicity, and since they had to bake a bit longer, I had plenty of time to let the chicken stock reduce. Take the time to reduce, folks.... that's what gives your kitchen/house time to start smelling so great! I read one review about it being 'too salty,' but since this recipe only calls for 'salt to taste,' how can you blame the recipe? Next time, I will use half-and-half instead of heavy cream. I used one small boiler onion (because I don't like having stinky half-onions hanging around my house), and when I added the cream, I added one chopped fresh tomato for color. A little fresh spinach might be yummy too. Yum Yum Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chicken a la Mayo

See how to make succulent baked chicken with a crispy, corn flake crust.

Prosciutto-Wrapped Stuffed Chicken Breasts

It may look worky, but this elegant meal is surprisingly easy to prepare.

Tender Pan-Fried Chicken Breasts

They go from stovetop to oven, and come out super moist and tender.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States