Chicken Jerusalem I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2008
HELPFUL TIPS NOT MENTIONED: I've read all the reviews, have made this myself for several years now, and have learned a few things. When using ranch packages, the sooner you mix, cook, and eat ...the more you "taste" the ranch. The longer it has to blend into the rest of the ingredients, the more it'll taste like a traditional chicken jerusalem. I make mine in the morning (mix ingredients on stovetop then onto the chicken) & cook when husband comes home (only needs 45 minutes)! With that said, it is wise to only use half a package of ranch. Cutting down the white wine to 1C makes it perfect for us. While quality of the wine makes a difference, I use dirt cheap and have wonderful results. It's great to have a recipe you can put together so quickly and make all in one casserole dish! Perfect for those days you're very busy or not wanting to make a big fuss over dinner. The chicken comes out so super tender! Great with stuffing and salad, or sometimes we serve with diced potatoes, and there's plenty of sauce to serve it over pasta and rice! Another recipe that is very similar and quick (and not as powerful) is: Wine Sauce Chicken from this site! I prefer that one and my husband prefers this one! So they're both keepers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Joy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2002
This is a wonderful dish especially when served over rice and a side of vegetables!! I have prepared this for guests and they have compared it to fine dining...little did they now it only took only 20 minutes to prepare!! My 5 year old loves it too!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2007
Wow! This is an awesome sauce. I've been looking to recreate a chicken shells recipe from our office caterer (she won't reveal any of her recipes) and this did it. I made the sauce subbing italian dressing mix for the ranch mix and decreased the wine by 1/4 cup and added 1/4 cup chicken broth. I added a little of the sauce mix to 1 1/2 cup shredded chicken just until moist then also stirred in about 1/2 cup mozzerella. I used this mixture to stuff pasta shells and poured the remaining sauce over everything. I baked at 350 degrees for about 30 minutes. It was fabulous. I served it for a birthday party and even the pickiest eater went back for seconds. This is definately a favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Recovery, Ohio, USA
Living In: Coldwater, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2003
We thought this recipe was okay, but it was not a hit at our house. The ranch, wine and soup all seemed to compete for the primary flavor and did not compliment well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2005
OH MY GOD!!!! This dish is 2 die for! The sauce was sooooo yummy! I can't stop thinking about how deliciously rich this sauce turned out!!!! I think it would be delicious served over shrimp or lobster. I changed a few things: 1 cup of white cooking wine, a little less cream cheese (low fat), half a pack of ranch soup mix, and 2 cloves of garlic blended into the sauce. I also used golden mushroom soup, which gave it a gorgeous golden hue. So good, and so easy- and i'm only 14! My parents loved it, and i will make this so many more times! Serve with good, crusty bread to soak up the sauce. Definitely the best thing you might ever make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 2Yung2Cook

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2002
We absolutely loved this dish! I added garlic to zing it up a little, and can't wait to experiment with other seasonings with this sauce. I am not sure why some reviewers had trouble with a strong wine taste. I thought it was just perfect. My only thought on the problem is that it may have been the wine they used. You should never use "cooking wine" or el cheapo wine in a sauce. If it isn't good enough to drink at the table, it isn't good enough for the sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chillicothe, Ohio, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
Hubby hated it, his coworkers couldn't even stay in the room when he reheated it because it smelled so bad, and I just thought it was "okay"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
Served over Rotini pasta with salad and rolls. We really enjoyed this, even the two-year-old. (NOTE: the alcohol in the wine cooks out, making it safe for children). Thought the wine taste was a little overpowering; we used a cheap white wine, but think it would have been better with a really good white wine. Overall, it was fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2004
I took a chance and made this for the first time for company- it was EXCELLENT, the company talked about it all night and asked for the recipe! So easy and so delicious. Only changes: substituted cr. of chicken and baked for 45 min. Definate keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2001
I marinated the chicken breasts in the wine and ranch dressing mix for 4 hours before preparing the meal. It helped a bit, but the chicken itself had little taste. I think next time I will cut the chicken into strips, then marinate them. The sauce was excelent, none the less! It couln't have been much easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken a la Mayo

See how to make succulent baked chicken with a crispy, corn flake crust.

Prosciutto-Wrapped Stuffed Chicken Breasts

It may look worky, but this elegant meal is surprisingly easy to prepare.

Tender Pan-Fried Chicken Breasts

They go from stovetop to oven, and come out super moist and tender.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States