Chicken Jerusalem I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2007
Wow! This is an awesome sauce. I've been looking to recreate a chicken shells recipe from our office caterer (she won't reveal any of her recipes) and this did it. I made the sauce subbing italian dressing mix for the ranch mix and decreased the wine by 1/4 cup and added 1/4 cup chicken broth. I added a little of the sauce mix to 1 1/2 cup shredded chicken just until moist then also stirred in about 1/2 cup mozzerella. I used this mixture to stuff pasta shells and poured the remaining sauce over everything. I baked at 350 degrees for about 30 minutes. It was fabulous. I served it for a birthday party and even the pickiest eater went back for seconds. This is definately a favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Recovery, Ohio, USA
Living In: Coldwater, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2007
This dish didn't really do much for me. It was okay, just a bit bland, and I guess I had high expectations from the other reviews. Thanks anyway though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zekele

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2007
Definitely a keeper recipe. My husband, who says he clucks due to eating so much chicken, really liked this recipe, as did my two young kids! I didn't have the dry ranch mix, so I made my own with dry ingredients I had on hand per a suggestion of another reviewer. Wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2006
Good recipe! Definitely need to cut the onion soup mix in half...I also halved the cream cheese. Very good, but not so figure friendly. Thanks for the share!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: East Haven, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2006
I was pleased and a bit surprised that this came out as tasty as it did. Heeding the advice of other reviewers, I used only 3 tbsp of the ranch dressing mix, which was plenty considering how salty I think ranch dressing mix makes things. I also cut back the white wine to 3/4 of a cup. The blender made the sauce smooth and easy on me. The chicken was fork tender, which was completely unexpected and a pleasant surprise. This will be a weeknight keeper for sure, I served mine with penne pasta, add a green salad and some garlic bread you've got a nice meal for a Wednesday night. One hint to error prone folks like myself, spray your baking dish with cooking spray prior to baking, or else you'll be like me scraping down my casserole dish with a spatula.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Hartford, New York, USA
Living In: Alpharetta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2006
My husband and I both enjoyed this very much. I took the suggestions from most of the reviewers (less cream cheese, half ranch packet, garlic, less wine, etc.). Delicious!!! I will make again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sylvia

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waxahachie, Texas, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2005
I loved this recipe..but then I love ranch dressing. My husband liked the recipe, but he isn't as fond of ranch as I am. I will definitely make again, and will use less ranch dressing and will add garlic cloves as suggested by others. I may add a little more wine or a little less cream cheese as we did not taste the wine at all. Wonderful recipe. Thank you Angela!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2005
This was pretty good. I have had the recipe for a while but never tried it. Other reviewers were right...next time a little less of the ranch mix and a little less wine (more for me to drink!) but I'd definitely do this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2005
I thought the taste was good, but I would probably add a bit less wine next time (sauce was pretty thin). Also, make this in the 9x13 pan, as recommended. I used less chicken and opted for a MUCH smaller pan. The sauce totally covered all of the chicken (which was fine), but it also bubbled over the edge of the pan the whole time!!! Off to clean the oven now...but eating todays leftovers will be worth all the scrubbing I'll be doing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2005
Yery easy and quick prep. My family liked this so much it quickly became a family favorite. We have even used this recipe for large functions. I have found that if you double the chicken for a larger group, you don't necessarily need to double the other ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 117) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken a la Mayo

See how to make succulent baked chicken with a crispy, corn flake crust.

Prosciutto-Wrapped Stuffed Chicken Breasts

It may look worky, but this elegant meal is surprisingly easy to prepare.

Tender Pan-Fried Chicken Breasts

They go from stovetop to oven, and come out super moist and tender.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States