Chicken Jambalaya II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2001
I had to make some substitutions the second time I made this dish, because the spices were lacking and the instant rice gave a less than authentic flavor. Instead of garlic powder, I used a couple of cloves of fresh garlic. I omitted the onion powder and chili powder, and used salt, pepper, paprika, basil, parsley, and a little cayenne to taste. I also used 2 chopped fresh tomatoes for the canned. Instead of instant rice, I used long grain white rice and simmered it, covered, for 25 minutes. The few extra minutes work and cooking time made a difference in the taste. This is a good recipe with a few alterations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Moon Riding Fences

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2005
Definitely need to make some changes here so this will be more authentic. First, I sauteed the green peppers, onions and celerly in butter. This makes a "Trinity," the base for many Cajun recipes. Also, use Cajun seasoning, not what is listed. I used frozen diced onions and green peppers as a timesaver. Added cayenne pepper, bay leaves, oregano and hot sauce as well as diced Andouille sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2006
Good basic recipe, however I feel that it needs more spices. Have customised this recipe to suit our tastes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2010
This wasn't bad, but took some doctoring to get it to where the family really enjoyed it. I added celery with the onions and peppers... instead of 1 can of whole tomatoes, I subbed diced tomatoes with green chiles (Rotel style), and instead of chili powder, I subbed cajun seasoning. Also the instant rice just didn't do it for us, and seemed to suck up all the juices, leaving the jambalaya dry, so the next time I made this, I used regular long grain rice cooked separately, and added it at the end.... after these changes it was much better
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by islandmom26

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA
Living In: West Yarmouth, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2012
Good, but like everyone else can attest to, it needs quite a bit of extra seasoning. It's a great base recipe though. I added the onion powder and garlic powder just because I love them both very much but also added quite a bit of creole seasoning, a dash of hot sauce and cayenne and replaced the whole peeled tomatoes with diced. I didn't use instant rice either, making a pot of long grain white rice on the side to go with it instead. I would have kicked it up a notch on the spicy factor, but my kids would have kicked my butt ;p. All in all, pretty good eats.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2005
Pretty good recipe, I'll definitely make it again. I used some cajun spices instead of the spices listed, but the rest of the recipe was unchanged. Be sure you have a BIG skillet for this recipe, it makes a ton(closer to 7 or 8 servings rather than 6). I think next time I may substitute a can of corn and black beans for some of the tomatoes, peppers or onions. Not that there were too many of them, just that I think corn and beans would be an excellent addition. Maybe I should just get a larger pan! One more thing, this makes an excellent chip dip. My girlfriend mentioned that it would be good with corn tortillas and we only had plain corn chips, so we scooped them and it was great. I went out after dinner and got the tortillas, I'm sure it'll be good as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2005
Easy one-dish recipe. I will make this recipe again. I think this is a recipe you can (and probably should) add your own personal touches too. I made a few modifications to the recipe: added fresh garlic, used canned diced tomatoes (with seasonings), and added a little hot sauce. Next time I will probably make even more modifications even though it had a nice flavor as prepared.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2006
Delicious and quick. Kids (picky) liked it. Thank goodness it was season to taste as they told me I had to add more
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Jambalaya

See how to make a spicy jambalaya with chicken and andouille sausage.

Sausage and Chicken Gumbo

Watch Chef John make a classic New Orleans gumbo.

Easy Cajun Jambalaya

A simple jambalaya with chicken and kielbasa and a kick that won’t overpower.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States