Chicken Jambalaya I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2009
Great! I made this last night and followed the directions almost exactly- except that I used canned tomatoes that come with onions, celery, and green pepper... I used the whole can of chicken broth [which is only slightly more than the 1 1/2 cups the recipe calls for]... I used red pepper flakes instead of hot sauce like another reviewer suggested... and to save time, I used Tyson's premium canned chicken and used 2 cans of that- which I think is slightly more than the 2 cups of chicken the recipe calls for. When I turned the heat down after I brought it to a boil, I brought it down to medium. At first, I stirred it fairly frequently, but in the last 10 minutes, I didn't stir it much at all. A little of it stuck to the bottom, so next time I'll either make sure to stir it more often or possibly turn the heat down more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2009
YUM YUM YUM! This is a staple at our house! We skip the celery, because we never have it on hand, and also the thyme for the same reason. Although this last time I actually DID have thyme, and we decided we like it better without. I sometimes add extra veggies (peas or cauliflower) to replace the celery. It is good with or without! Otherwise, I follow the recipe exactly and this is one yummy dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2009
It was quick and easy:)The taste was nothing to special, but I would make this again, I love recipes that don't have to many 'different' ingredients, this ones a keeper. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2009
If you've got lots of stuff and little time, this recipe is for you! I didn't have bell peppers, so I used baby carrots. I didn't have a 14.5 oz. can of tomatoes, but I did have two gargantuan tomatoes from the garden. Threw it all together. Cooked one cubed chicken breast in Chef Prudhomme's cajun spices (just a pinch) and, I kid you not, this was ready in under 30 minutes! Do yourself a favor! Double the servings and enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2009
quick and delicious! my wife loved it. thanks a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2009
Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2009
I've never had jambalaya before, so I wasn't sure what to expect. I read the other reviews and this looked like the one to try. I loved it! I always put my own personal touches on recipes and this was no exception. I used a whole chopped onion and the entire can (14.5 ounces) of chicken broth. I also added chopped smoked beef sausage and cooked with the tomatoes, rice and other ingredients. After the rice was tender, I added the chicken which I had boiled and shredded. It was great. Even my brother, who is a picky eater, ate two bowls. Thank you, Suzanne, for a great recipe. It's going in my collection.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Gracey
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2008
After trying this recipe, we have a new favourite in our house! It was delicious. We added one Italian sausage, and we couldn't get enough! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2008
I made a vegetarian version of this with seitan, and it turned out delicious. I will certainly be using this recipe again. I was out of celery, so I substituted mixed vegetables and a liberal sprinkling of celery seed, which turned out very well, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2008
Loved how easy this was to make! I changed only a couple of things. I made a roux (equal parts butter and flour) to start and I wisked it until brown. Then I followed the directions with the excption of I added fresh garlic and onion flakes (my husband dose not eat fresh onion)! I'll make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 115) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Jambalaya

See how to make a spicy jambalaya with chicken and andouille sausage.

Easy Cajun Jambalaya

A simple jambalaya with chicken and kielbasa and a kick that won’t overpower.

Sausage & Shrimp Jambalaya

See how simple it is to make rich and hearty Creole jambalaya.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States