Chicken Jalfrezi Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2014
I reduced the spices by about 1/3, due to people saying it was too spicy, because I'm a bit of a wimp. It's not necessary at all. Even for a wimp like me I wished I hadn't modified the spice...except for the salt. Definitely reduce the salt. I also added bell pepper and made it with quinoa instead of rice. This was so easy to make and tasted excellent. There was nothing left when dinner was over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2014
OMG! I love this recipe alot my mum even cooks this and its an awesome dish but she cooks it in a different way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Karachi, Sindh, Pakistan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ann Marie Natal
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
My goodness! This was without a doubt one of the most flavorful and delicious chicken recipes I’ve had on allrecipes. These were definitely very unique flavors! The recipe as listed is completely perfect. It results in the most succulent chicken with a bold spectrum of heavenly flavors. The spice combination used here was to die for! We served this over a bed of rice and it was a big hit. This 5 star recipe will definitely be a keeper in our home. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ann Marie Natal

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2014
Made for the first time yesterday and we enjoyed it very much. Tastes lovely and the blend of flavors is excellent. Made per recipe with the exception of adding melted butter as I did not have any ghee. Also added two teaspoons of sugar to take away the acidic taste from the tomatoes. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2014
I agree with one of the reviews that the spices are better roasted/fried first The amount of cumin and all the other spices added towards the end made the curry seem undercooked. I read the recipe and reviews many times to confirm if I was following right or if anyone else had the same problem.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2014
This recipe is fantastic! But I did change a few things. I doubled the tomatoes (28 oz). Makes it a little more saucy since the curry reduces down quite a bit as it simmers. I also add "Hot Madras curry powder" and "Garam Masala" at the end when it's done cooking. I usually just add them to taste (about 2 tsp each). YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leianna Dixon

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2014
I had it for the first time about three weeks ago and have made it about four or five times since then. Everyone loved it. The only thing it needed was a little more liquid near the end, and so I added some water. Great dish. If I could aware more stars, I would.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2014
Delicious. Very flavorful. Will become a regular at our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2014
Very flavorful and lovely on the plate also. I did not add ghee and only used one tablespoon of oil to sauté the onion and garlic. I used more ginger than the recipe called for….because I love ginger…and that was tasty, too. Very easy to prepare and it was a nice enough dish that I would serve to company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
Pulled up this recipe last minute and had to make a couple of substitutions but other than that I followed the recipe and it was amazing! I used fresh bell pepper and some frozen peas and added some water instead of canned tomatoes, and used fresh parsley instead of cilantro and also added some chili garlic paste for some extra spice. I definitely will try the original recipe soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 271) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Chicken Curry II

This homemade Indian chicken curry dish is so delicious, you won’t miss takeout.

Indian Tomato Chicken

See how to make chicken thighs simmered with tomatoes and exotic spices.

How to Make Chicken Adobo

Give chicken thighs or duck legs the full Filipino-style adobo treatment.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States