Chicken Jalfarezi Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2013
after tweaking this a good amount i really enjoyed the flavor.. doubled all the spices.. didn't have garam masala so i added a bit of curry.. doubled the vinegar too (as suggested by someone else) but didn't see a need for it in the dish.. only had green bell pepper.. doubled the tomato paste.. and added 1 cup of chicken broth.. had a little leftover cooked spinach so threw that in as well.. maybe the garam masala would have made a big difference idk.. thanks for the base of a good recipe anyway
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Arcadia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2012
Good tasting, but definitely not the mouth orgasm that I expected. I crockpotted mine with raw chicken, there was enough liquid from the chicken and tomatoes. Recommend doubling the spices and adding hot chili powder, as many others recommend. Overall easy to throw together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2012
I made this as per the recipe: reviewers are quite right - it needs more moisture. I added a 1/2 c. chicken stock as well as 1/4 tsp salt. I also ended up adding raisins and almonds which helped the taste and texture. Tomorrow, when I heat up the leftovers, I'll add a healthy dose of curry powder to pick up the flavor a bit. I served this with Basmati rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2012
An okay dish to build off, but as a popular Pakistani dish and someone who loves Indian food I was expecting some different in flavor. Not spice and no robust flavors...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2012
It was great, and sooooo easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IGNACIO

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2011
I cooked this in a 4 Quart slow cooker on low for 6-7 hrs. Did not need extra fluid. Used only two raw boneless chicken breasts cut up. Added 1/2c whole canned chickpeas, 1/4 c golden raisins, and doubled the spices. But, still needed a bit more kick, so next time I will add more spices with heat (e.g., HOT chili powder). We served over Couscous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jewelsmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Los Alamos, New Mexico, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
I read over the reviews and took everyone's adjustments into consideration. I did, however, make some additional adjustments, so I am rating the basic recipe as best I can since I "tweaked" it so much. I think it's a good basic recipe to start with, but it would not have been as pleasing left as is. I doubled the spices and the vinegar. I also used canned tomatoes mainly to get more juice. I have added chicken broth or vegetable broth, depending on what I had on hand, and both work well since this dish needs more moisture (especially if you are putting it over rice). I used green, red and yellow (or, sometimes, orange) peppers to the recipe because the red peppers are very sweet and the other colors are not just pretty, each adds a slightly different flavor. I added chickpeas to mine because if you look at the photo attached to this recipe, it clearly shows chickpeas in the picture and the recipe did not call for chickpeas. I was very confused about the photo containing chickpeas and it did make me wonder if this photo was the author's finished dish? Or, perhaps, she forgot to add the chickpeas to the recipe? Anyway, I added them and we enjoyed the dish once I had made considerable adjustments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JePeuxCuisiner

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by rebeqah
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
I had to make some adjustments to the recipe since I didn't have tomato paste, fresh tomatoes, and not enough chicken. I added 1/2 canned tomatoes and can of tomatoes/green chilies. I used garbanzo beans to fill in for the chicken, I used green, yellow and red peppers to give it more color. I salted and peppered until I was happy and added a pinch or so of all the other spices until it hit the spice level I enjoy. Over all I know I might have butchered the recipe but it wasn't bad considering all the adjustments I had to make. Hopefully I got the essence of Jalfarezi.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rebeqah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2009
Great recipe BUT I'm glad I read the reviews. I doubled the amount of spices and added a few dashes of hot sauce. The next day, I put the leftovers in a small slow cooker with a can of Rotel tomatoes with jalepenos and another tbsp of Garam Marsala on low for about 3 hours. It was soooooo much better then the first day! In the future, I think I will always put it in the little slow cooker for 2-3 hours before serving. It really blends the flavors. I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2009
Very easy to make. I doubled the spices as others suggested. My kids loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Tomato Chicken

See how to make chicken thighs simmered with tomatoes and exotic spices.

Indian Chicken Curry I

This rich chicken curry is easy enough for a weeknight dinner.

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice I

A quick chicken stir-fry with loads of crisp, colorful vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States