Chicken In Sour Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2007
The sauce is amazing! I added sliced potatoes and carrots to the dish and covered all with the sauce and baked for the hour suggested and the meal was complete and delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
156 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SYDLY

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: May 20, 2003
SALTY SALTY SALTY..forgot to heed the advice of other reviewers. The onion mix, high sodium of canned mushroom soup, and salt seasoning is too much. Next time, I'll skip the salt, halve the onion mix, and use low sodium mushroom soup if it exists. My neighbor made a similar dish for me once, and I was trying to find it on my own. Her chicken was extremely tender and not salty...looks like I just need to get the recipe from her directly. Sorry...has potential, just too darn salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
127 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
This a very good, quick recipe. I've made this many times before, but I have never used sour cream or dry onion soup mix. What I did was to forget the browning, just added the chicken directly to pan,put in the oven,cook till slightly browned,drain the fat,add sour cream mixture,do not add salt,the soup mix has enough.return to oven, I added garlic powder and touch more black pepper. Then I added milk to thin the sauce and served over fluffy white basamati rice, just add a side of green beans,or broccoli a tossed salad, and you have dinner in no time at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
96 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa from Toledo

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2008
I made this recipe, but tried to cut the fat and calories. I used cooking spray instead of the oil, I used fat free sour cream, fat free condensed mushroom soup and boneless, skinless chicken thighs. I served this dish over rice... oh my goodness. How delicious! This is a fantastic recipe. The dill & lemon juice just give the recipe a great tangy kick. This recipe was a huge success & is a new family favourite. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebekah

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Owensboro, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2007
Love it! I did add some milk to thin out the sauce and used chicken breasts instead. I would not add any salt as the soup mix is salty enough. Served over homemade mashed potatoes and w/your favorite green veggie and you've got dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2001
The sauce is quite rich, but very yummy. And it was easy! I also used boneless skinless chicken breast- I cooked them 3 min per side in the pan and then baked for 45 min & it was perfect. I will make this occasionally for dinner parties.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2002
My husband and I don't add much (if any) salt to our food, so the salty quotient of this dish nearly shot our heads off. If I make this again, I would cut the soup mix in half and in agreement with a previous poster, add milk to what seemed like a rather thick sauce/gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2001
This is rich and satisfying, albeit slightly salty. Using a little less onion soup mix and subsituting onion power may make it better. This would go great with green beans and garlic mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2001
This tastes awesome, but omit the salt!! The onion soup mix has plenty of salt in it already. Serve over unsalted egg noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Summerset

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2002
This recipe makes a fabulous sour cream chicken. The chicken is extremely flavorful and tender, and it easy too! I wouldn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 288) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Enchanted Sour Cream Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make saucy, New Mexico-style chicken enchiladas.

Chicken Chimichangas with Sour Cream Sauce

See how to make cheesy chicken chimichangas in a savory sauce.

Chicken in Cream Sauce

See how to make this savory Salvadorian stewed chicken dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States