Chicken In Sour Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2011
No wonder nearly 5,000 cooks have saved this recipe! The sauce is great. I used boneless skinless chicken breasts and had no soup mix. So I browned about 1/4 cup of chopped onions with the chicken and added more than a pinch of the seasonings. I sprinkled the top with more paprika just for 'pretty'.My picky husband loved it! This was the first time to use sour cream over chicken this way. I will again. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TxVee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2011
It was good, not amazing, but good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2011
A little salty but a good spin on chicken. Got rid of some of my lemons too :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2011
I love this recipe! I double the sauce ingredients and serve it over egg noodles. I am always looking for new recipes for chicken thighs because I can sometimes get the thighs for 99 cents a pound on sale. Thank you so much, this recipe is a keeper for life.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2011
Just fixed this tonight, using 3 skinless chicken thighs, and DH says it's a keeper. Made a few changes... I don't use onion soup mix, so I substituted 2 TB dehydrated minced onion. After browning the chicken in a hot skillet, using cooking spray and a small pat of butter, I blotted the rendered fat out of the skillet then deglazed the pan with 2 TB sherry and 2 TB chicken broth. I stirred 1/2 cup sour cream, 1/2 can mushroom soup and the lemon juice, pepper, paprika and dill together, and added the liquid from the skillet. I also added about 5 sliced fresh mushrooms before pouring the sauce over the chicken in the baking dish. I did not have the problem of the sauce being too thick - probably because of the extra 1/4 cup of liquid from the sherry and chicken broth. Nor was it too salty, since I didn't use the soup mix. I did find the sour cream had curdled and turned grainy, as is all too common with hot sour cream sauces. This is why it only gets 4 stars from me. I want to use creme fraiche next time in place of the sour cream and see how that does.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
Fabulous recipe. My family and I love it and we have sent it on to some other close friends looking for a quick meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2011
I followed the recipe exactly. It was alright, I didn't think the chicken was very tender. I can't see myself making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JenF

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Charlotte, Michigan, USA
Living In: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2011
Fantastic!!! I omitted the salt, halved the onion soup mix and subbed some dried onions and everything was awesome! Great over rice or mashed potatoes. Thanks for a great addition to our menu!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Legomom

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2011
No need for onion soup mix. Low sodium cream of mushroom was plenty salty! Per previous reviews, added garlic powder. Also, poured oil from pan, then deglazed pan with white wine and a dab of butter, added that to the sour cream mix. Excellent! Next time, I will try just baking, no browning, for quicker prep time (as another reviewer did).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DKblumchen

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2011
When you cook the sour cream it totally curdles. The tast is good, but the texture of the sour cream is unappealing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 313) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Chimichangas with Sour Cream Sauce

See how to make cheesy chicken chimichangas in a savory sauce.

Enchanted Sour Cream Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make saucy, New Mexico-style chicken enchiladas.

Budget Friendly Chicken Oreganato

See a super-simple way to prepare flavorful lemony chicken thighs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States