Chicken In Sour Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
I made this for dinner tonight as well as Algerian Carrots, also from this site. I used boneless, skinless thighs. I followed the recipe except I did not add the salt that was called for and I forgot the dill (I would have used it had I not forgotten). I also added a little milk to the sauce because it was very thick! I did not brown my chicken, but would have if it had been skin on. My entire family loved this and we will make it again! I almost forgot...I used up about 12 fresh mushrooms but tossing them on top while baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2013
My family loved this recipe! The only thing I added was mushrooms in the sauce and I placed potatoes around the chicken. The sauce covered everything and it was very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Theresa Snow
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2013
Definitely a keeper! it was awesome! My husband and son loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blondiegirl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2013
I didn't add the dry onion soup mix (because I didn't have). The sauce was a little bit thick but, it still turned out pretty good, my husband and friends liked it a lot. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2013
So GOOD! This was actually one of my favorite things I've ever made! I had 10 thighs bone-in so I doubled the sauce- great idea! The sauce is out of this world fantastic! The sauce would be great for beef stroganoff! I didn't have dill so I left that out and I only had 1/2 the sour cream so next time I want to try it will all the sour cream. I also browned the chicken in tons of margarine and then retained a small amount to mix with everything else. SO fantastic! I put on top of egg noddles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2013
Made as written, except I ran out of sour cream and substituted about 3/4 cup of plain greek yogurt. It still tasted great - will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2013
I have made this recipe 3x's still working on it, but I have used others advice and made my own onion soup mix w/ beef bullion, garlic powder, and onion powder...the first time I made it the salt content was ridiculous and ...I could eat salt as a main course. I also added milk to thin it out and threw in a potato..., but we still love it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MesaMa
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2013
This was pretty good. I had 8 bone-in/skin on chicken thighs that I got for only $3.50 and was wondering what to do with them... here we are. I took the skin off the chicken but kept the bone in. I didn't add any salt because of other reviews that said it was salty. I agree, skipping the added salt was a good idea. I used low fat soup and fat free sour cream and added about 1/2 a cup of 1% milk to the sauce because it was very thick. Decided to just serve it over some veggies. Low carb meal that everyone enjoyed! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MesaMa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2013
I needed a make-ahead dish, and this was perfect! I didn't even brown the boneless-skinless thighs. They went right into a glass baking dish, with carrots and sliced red potatoes. For the sauce, I didn't have lemon juice, but about 1/3 C. of good-quality dry sherry, mixed with the sour cream mixture, made this dish over-the-top delish. I used a whole pkg. of the onion soup mix, but didn't add any salt, as others suggested. The chicken was so tender, and everyone raved. As a side note, though, the vegetables were not done, even after baking well over an hour, covered with foil. Next time I'll cook those on the side, bake the chicken for one hour, and serve over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Happy Cookah

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: South Jordan, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2013
I did not care for this recipe. The dill, along with the lemon juice mixed with the hot sour cream and mushroom soup and onion soup mix was unappealing to our palates. Do not add any salt to this. The onion soup mix adds enough if not too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 313) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Chimichangas with Sour Cream Sauce

See how to make cheesy chicken chimichangas in a savory sauce.

Enchanted Sour Cream Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make saucy, New Mexico-style chicken enchiladas.

Budget Friendly Chicken Oreganato

See a super-simple way to prepare flavorful lemony chicken thighs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States