Chicken In Sour Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2013
I didn't add the dry onion soup mix (because I didn't have). The sauce was a little bit thick but, it still turned out pretty good, my husband and friends liked it a lot. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2013
So GOOD! This was actually one of my favorite things I've ever made! I had 10 thighs bone-in so I doubled the sauce- great idea! The sauce is out of this world fantastic! The sauce would be great for beef stroganoff! I didn't have dill so I left that out and I only had 1/2 the sour cream so next time I want to try it will all the sour cream. I also browned the chicken in tons of margarine and then retained a small amount to mix with everything else. SO fantastic! I put on top of egg noddles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2013
Made as written, except I ran out of sour cream and substituted about 3/4 cup of plain greek yogurt. It still tasted great - will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2013
I have made this recipe 3x's still working on it, but I have used others advice and made my own onion soup mix w/ beef bullion, garlic powder, and onion powder...the first time I made it the salt content was ridiculous and ...I could eat salt as a main course. I also added milk to thin it out and threw in a potato..., but we still love it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MesaMa
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2013
This was pretty good. I had 8 bone-in/skin on chicken thighs that I got for only $3.50 and was wondering what to do with them... here we are. I took the skin off the chicken but kept the bone in. I didn't add any salt because of other reviews that said it was salty. I agree, skipping the added salt was a good idea. I used low fat soup and fat free sour cream and added about 1/2 a cup of 1% milk to the sauce because it was very thick. Decided to just serve it over some veggies. Low carb meal that everyone enjoyed! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MesaMa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2013
I needed a make-ahead dish, and this was perfect! I didn't even brown the boneless-skinless thighs. They went right into a glass baking dish, with carrots and sliced red potatoes. For the sauce, I didn't have lemon juice, but about 1/3 C. of good-quality dry sherry, mixed with the sour cream mixture, made this dish over-the-top delish. I used a whole pkg. of the onion soup mix, but didn't add any salt, as others suggested. The chicken was so tender, and everyone raved. As a side note, though, the vegetables were not done, even after baking well over an hour, covered with foil. Next time I'll cook those on the side, bake the chicken for one hour, and serve over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Happy Cookah

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: South Jordan, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2013
I did not care for this recipe. The dill, along with the lemon juice mixed with the hot sour cream and mushroom soup and onion soup mix was unappealing to our palates. Do not add any salt to this. The onion soup mix adds enough if not too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2013
I only make recipes on here exactly as written, but for one of the first times, I had to substitute ingredients...I didn't have any lemon juice, so instead, I greased the pan with lemon pepper seasoned butter and olive oil saute starter, and then threw the remaining cube into the frying pan and quickly browned the chicken in it. I also only had 3/4 cup of sour cream, so I made up the difference with heavy whipping cream as suggested by other cooks...THIS WAS PHENOMENAL!!! My husband and I were soooooooooo impressed, especially myself, as I stay away from the onion-soup-mix/cream of mushroom concoctions. But this was amazing!!! Thanks for the "souper" recipe, lol!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2013
This turned out better than expected. Looked for a recipe for what I had in the house and this fit the bill. Turned out great. The dill really made this tasty. As others suggested I did not add any extra salt because the onion soup mix has enough. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
Husband and 14 year old son loved this... did not salt chicken doubled sour cream.... yum ading this to my most loved dishes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jgreene

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 300) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chicken Chimichangas with Sour Cream Sauce

See how to make cheesy chicken chimichangas in a savory sauce.

Enchanted Sour Cream Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make saucy, New Mexico-style chicken enchiladas.

Budget Friendly Chicken Oreganato

See a super-simple way to prepare flavorful lemony chicken thighs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States