Chicken In Sour Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by MesaMa
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2013
This was pretty good. I had 8 bone-in/skin on chicken thighs that I got for only $3.50 and was wondering what to do with them... here we are. I took the skin off the chicken but kept the bone in. I didn't add any salt because of other reviews that said it was salty. I agree, skipping the added salt was a good idea. I used low fat soup and fat free sour cream and added about 1/2 a cup of 1% milk to the sauce because it was very thick. Decided to just serve it over some veggies. Low carb meal that everyone enjoyed! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MesaMa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2013
I needed a make-ahead dish, and this was perfect! I didn't even brown the boneless-skinless thighs. They went right into a glass baking dish, with carrots and sliced red potatoes. For the sauce, I didn't have lemon juice, but about 1/3 C. of good-quality dry sherry, mixed with the sour cream mixture, made this dish over-the-top delish. I used a whole pkg. of the onion soup mix, but didn't add any salt, as others suggested. The chicken was so tender, and everyone raved. As a side note, though, the vegetables were not done, even after baking well over an hour, covered with foil. Next time I'll cook those on the side, bake the chicken for one hour, and serve over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Happy Cookah

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: South Jordan, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2013
I did not care for this recipe. The dill, along with the lemon juice mixed with the hot sour cream and mushroom soup and onion soup mix was unappealing to our palates. Do not add any salt to this. The onion soup mix adds enough if not too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2013
I only make recipes on here exactly as written, but for one of the first times, I had to substitute ingredients...I didn't have any lemon juice, so instead, I greased the pan with lemon pepper seasoned butter and olive oil saute starter, and then threw the remaining cube into the frying pan and quickly browned the chicken in it. I also only had 3/4 cup of sour cream, so I made up the difference with heavy whipping cream as suggested by other cooks...THIS WAS PHENOMENAL!!! My husband and I were soooooooooo impressed, especially myself, as I stay away from the onion-soup-mix/cream of mushroom concoctions. But this was amazing!!! Thanks for the "souper" recipe, lol!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2013
This turned out better than expected. Looked for a recipe for what I had in the house and this fit the bill. Turned out great. The dill really made this tasty. As others suggested I did not add any extra salt because the onion soup mix has enough. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
Husband and 14 year old son loved this... did not salt chicken doubled sour cream.... yum ading this to my most loved dishes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
We used chicken thighs and my family loved this. Served over white rice. This is a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ron'sWifey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
Made this for some work colleagues and everyone seemed to love it! I changed a few things, I didn't have dill, so I subsituted rosemary, which is delicious, I cut the onion soup mix in half to save on salt. Added milk to thin it and added a tbs of parmesian cheese, because I need cheese in everything. It is extremely delicious and thank you all SO much for the tips. Yumyumyum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
This was a quick and easy recipe. The sauce was wonderful over brown rice. I added sliced onions and garlic. Next time I'm going to add a little milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2012
We liked this recipe. I made it accordingly and it is a nice blend of flavors with the lemon and dill and very savory. I if I were to make this recipe again, I would only use half a package of the onion soup mix as mentioned. It was a tad rich and on the salty side by using the whole package in there but really nothing that can't be fixed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tannis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada

Displaying results 21-30 (of 296) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Enchanted Sour Cream Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make saucy, New Mexico-style chicken enchiladas.

Chicken Chimichangas with Sour Cream Sauce

See how to make cheesy chicken chimichangas in a savory sauce.

Chicken in Cream Sauce

See how to make this savory Salvadorian stewed chicken dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States