Chicken In Sour Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2010
It's comfort food, but way too salty. I took the advice of one of the viewers and did not sprinkle chicken with salt while browning them. They are still way too salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sugar Land, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2010
I modified the recipe a bit based upon the other reviews of it being too salty and trying to make it healthier. I used dried onion flakes (3 tbsp) instead of the onion soup mix. I did not use salt to season the chicken either. I used fat free soup and low fat sour cream. It was delicious! I served it over rice with steamed brocolli. Both husband and picky kids ate it and liked it. I would add a good 1/2-3/4 cup milk next time to thin the sauce even more. Will be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2010
Made this last night, and I have to agree with most reviewer regarding too much salt. I didn't add salt, and still found it to be too salty from the onion soup mix. Next time I will use only 1/2 packet of soup mix or up the sour cream content.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2010
The chicken was moist and tender, but the sauce was more like a chip dip than a sauce. If you make this, don't serve with too much sauce on it. Just remove the chicken from the casserole dish and refrain from scooping the excess sauce and plopping on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dana Point, California, USA
Living In: Laguna Niguel, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2010
Very good. I use breast instead of thigh. Great served with rice of noodles and asparagus
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jackson, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
This was a tasty dish. Alot like Beef Stroganoff only with Chicken! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cooking in Duluth

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Duluth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
Not impressed. I felt the reviews were misleading. The onion soup mix is the salt culprit. I thought this would be mild and flavorful but all you taste is salt and onion soup. Don't waste your dill or your time on this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2010
A good chicken dish - don't be afraid to use more lemon...it definitely adds more kick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsCabes

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
Very delicious recipe! I would omit the salt though...keep everything else original! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by L

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
SALTY!!!!!!!! I didnt add the additional salt as others said it was too salty but even without the added, still too salty for me. I ended up adding plain steamed carrots and steamed rice which helped balance the salt taste, probably wont make it again. My husband said it was okay but he usually salts his food (he didnt with this meal which says alot)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dev

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Niceville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 288) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Enchanted Sour Cream Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make saucy, New Mexico-style chicken enchiladas.

Chicken Chimichangas with Sour Cream Sauce

See how to make cheesy chicken chimichangas in a savory sauce.

Chicken in Cream Sauce

See how to make this savory Salvadorian stewed chicken dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States