Chicken In Sour Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2015
Too salty and too strong an onion flavor for my taste...and my husbands. We ate it, but wouldn't make again. Maybe only using half the onion soup packet would be better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2015
I doubled the recipe but used only one envelope of onion soup & added a sliced onion Used 1 can of cream of chicken & mushroom. I skipped the added salt but added baby potatoes & fresh sliced carrots. I would recommend pare boiling potatoes & carrots. This is a great recipe for a chicken pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2015
We liked this recipe a lot, but I tweaked it a bit. I didn't have Cream of Mushroom soup (which I usually do!), so when I went to make this I had to use what I had which was Cream of Chicken. I browned the thighs in butter and sprinkled only Paprika on them. I wanted a lot of sauce so I used two cans of Cream of Chicken soup, probably over two cups of sour cream (which I think helps cut the problem of saltiness)and the rest of the recipe ingredients plus a bit of heavy cream to thin it a bit. I deglazed the pan with white wine, added whole mushrooms and cooked a bit. Poured the sauce over the chicken along with the mushrooms and baked. It was easy to make and delicious, the chicken was very tender. I served it with rice and green beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Honeylisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hayward, California, USA
Living In: Sonora, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2015
Very good, and yummy, served over stuffing. The sauce was even good as dip, as I used it with hummas chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tonya Mottau

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2015
This was really good! I doubled the recipe like other reviewers and only used half a pack of onion soup. I added hot green chillies as well as chives to the mash potatoes. It was a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2015
Made recipe tonight for a fast dinner. It was delicious and enjoyed by all except I felt by not covering the pan that there was not enough sauce (sauce by the way was wonderful). The chicken was very tender and I added potatoes and carrots which were very good. I used less dry onion soup mix, did not salt the chicken, added a small amount of milk and it was just right not too salty. I will try again but will cover loosely with foil and add more liquid next time to avoid not having enough of that wonderful sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2015
You definitely don't need to use salt. I used Golden Mushroom because I like the bolder taste over regular cream of mushroom. I also love dill, so I knew I'd like this recipe. I added some extra pepper and a little garlic powder into the mix and a little milk (maybe a quarter cup at most) like the others to thin a very thick sauce, and threw in a few baby carrots into the dish (which absorbed the dill flavor). Spooned the sauce over rice, made some broccoli and a hearty salad. The family really enjoyed it. Another recipe saved in favorites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2015
We do like salty things - and really enjoyed the flavor of it. I served it on egg noodles, with broccoli and cauliflower. It is not a pretty recipe if you pour the sauce over. Next time, I will set the chicken on top and cover it for most of the cooking time. Then I will toss the noodles in the sauce and serve the ckicken on top of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2015
I omitted the lemon, salt, and dill. I added four potatoes (sliced) and 1 c barley. I only used 4 thighs. Also added 1 c 2% milk. It was yummy !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2015
used 3/4 of onion soup and added extra mushrooms
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 313) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Chimichangas with Sour Cream Sauce

See how to make cheesy chicken chimichangas in a savory sauce.

Enchanted Sour Cream Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make saucy, New Mexico-style chicken enchiladas.

Budget Friendly Chicken Oreganato

See a super-simple way to prepare flavorful lemony chicken thighs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States