Chicken In Sour Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2015
Made recipe tonight for a fast dinner. It was delicious and enjoyed by all except I felt by not covering the pan that there was not enough sauce (sauce by the way was wonderful). The chicken was very tender and I added potatoes and carrots which were very good. I used less dry onion soup mix, did not salt the chicken, added a small amount of milk and it was just right not too salty. I will try again but will cover loosely with foil and add more liquid next time to avoid not having enough of that wonderful sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2015
You definitely don't need to use salt. I used Golden Mushroom because I like the bolder taste over regular cream of mushroom. I also love dill, so I knew I'd like this recipe. I added some extra pepper and a little garlic powder into the mix and a little milk (maybe a quarter cup at most) like the others to thin a very thick sauce, and threw in a few baby carrots into the dish (which absorbed the dill flavor). Spooned the sauce over rice, made some broccoli and a hearty salad. The family really enjoyed it. Another recipe saved in favorites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2015
We do like salty things - and really enjoyed the flavor of it. I served it on egg noodles, with broccoli and cauliflower. It is not a pretty recipe if you pour the sauce over. Next time, I will set the chicken on top and cover it for most of the cooking time. Then I will toss the noodles in the sauce and serve the ckicken on top of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2015
I omitted the lemon, salt, and dill. I added four potatoes (sliced) and 1 c barley. I only used 4 thighs. Also added 1 c 2% milk. It was yummy !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2015
used 3/4 of onion soup and added extra mushrooms
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2015
This is my favorite dilled chicken with my revisions
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2015
Loved this... the whole family raved about dinner. used low salt options where available and it was super tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carla Jewell

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2015
Really good and really easy but way too salty - I ignored other reviews because I LOVE salt so figured it'd be fine for me but it was too much even for me! I will most definitely make this again but I will use 1/2 of the onion soup mix. (It's worth noting that I did not have onion soup mix so I used a recipe I found online for it - but I found the same recipe both here on this site and many other sites so I'm reasonably sure it's a good sub for the packet!) There are very similar recipes for the crock pot so I'll probably try one of those next time. (No browning the chicken - I'm lazy!) This would be AMAZING over rice! (I didn't have any - that probably would have helped cut the salty taste, too.) Really nice, easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
AWESOME!!! Even thou I didn't have dill weed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by msgalfriend

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milford, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2014
The 'convenience' of packaged soups ruined this dish. Even when I doubled the amount of chicken it called for, it was too, too salty. Making my own quick mushroom sauce and half a packet of the onion soup makes the dish at least edible. I've never said this here before, but I won't use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 308) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Chimichangas with Sour Cream Sauce

See how to make cheesy chicken chimichangas in a savory sauce.

Enchanted Sour Cream Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make saucy, New Mexico-style chicken enchiladas.

Budget Friendly Chicken Oreganato

See a super-simple way to prepare flavorful lemony chicken thighs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States