Chicken In Sour Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2015
Really good and really easy but way too salty - I ignored other reviews because I LOVE salt so figured it'd be fine for me but it was too much even for me! I will most definitely make this again but I will use 1/2 of the onion soup mix. (It's worth noting that I did not have onion soup mix so I used a recipe I found online for it - but I found the same recipe both here on this site and many other sites so I'm reasonably sure it's a good sub for the packet!) There are very similar recipes for the crock pot so I'll probably try one of those next time. (No browning the chicken - I'm lazy!) This would be AMAZING over rice! (I didn't have any - that probably would have helped cut the salty taste, too.) Really nice, easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
AWESOME!!! Even thou I didn't have dill weed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by msgalfriend

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milford, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2014
The 'convenience' of packaged soups ruined this dish. Even when I doubled the amount of chicken it called for, it was too, too salty. Making my own quick mushroom sauce and half a packet of the onion soup makes the dish at least edible. I've never said this here before, but I won't use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2014
This was outstanding!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2014
I've fixed this several times. My family loves it. I use pork chops in place of chicken occassionally. Also, I thin the sauce down with milk. Makes enough gravy to use over either noodles or rice. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2014
Very good. Used 1/2 pkg onion mix and added parsley instead of dill. Family enjoyed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
Love the recipe used boneless skinless thighs lots of flavor added some mushrooms which only made it better. Quick to put together and can double it for leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2014
This was fantastic - easy, inexpensive and everyone loved it. I used low fat greek yogurt instead of the sour cream. I added about 6 sliced carrots to the casserole. It was so good. Easy to reheat for lunch the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennifer reyes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
Wow this was awesome! I made some adjustments. Not only did I use sour cream, but also used plain yogurt. I didn't have the onion soup mix so instead I cut green scallions and dice onions into the mix. I also used kosher salt and freshly ground pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rolando N

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elk Grove, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
I seasoned the chicken with an assortment of spices but I added no salt like other users recommended. I also used drum sticks instead of thighs. I didn't have the onion mix so I just used the mushroom mix with the seasoning. It came out wonderful! I would definetly make again but I would use milk to thin out the sauce because it was a little too thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 301) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Chimichangas with Sour Cream Sauce

See how to make cheesy chicken chimichangas in a savory sauce.

Enchanted Sour Cream Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make saucy, New Mexico-style chicken enchiladas.

Budget Friendly Chicken Oreganato

See a super-simple way to prepare flavorful lemony chicken thighs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States