Chicken in Onion and Mustard Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2008
I've been looking to add a little excitement to chicken and thought this recipe was outstanding. The only change I made was to leave out the walnuts as I'm not a fan. Thanks for sharing, I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2008
Pretty good! Definately use a red onion, it gives a little bit of sweet to offset the strong mustard! I used dijon mustard, and it was still quite pungent. Maybe using less mustard, and somehow incorporating bacon would make this a 5star, but as is a great 4 star. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KissTheChefette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2008
I used the ingredients and amounts in the recipe, except for using two chicken breasts. I pounded them lightly to make for equal thickness, and an instant-read thermometer reached 180 degrees in about 3 minutes per side. I sweated the onion, sliced very thin, in the remaining butter for a couple minutes before adding anything else to the skillet. Made the onion a bit sweeter, and a little easier to digest. For the mustard, I used half Grey Poupon Country Style, and half Mister Mustard, an extra-pungent Dijon-style product. Next time, I'll probably forego the Mister Mustard, and use just a bit less mustard overall -- The mustard's piquancy was quite pronounced, though pretty well balanced by the sweetness of the applesauce. Next time I think I'll also increase the amount of wine and cream to maybe 1/3 cup each. Reason: The sauce, though very tasty, became quite thick, and really ceased to be "saucy". I'd like it somewhat thinner. The walnuts added a really nice crunchy texture. I wouldn't hesitate to make this for company!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Columbus, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2009
Followed recipe as written. Very strange taste, not at all to my or my familys liking. Definitely would not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2009
This was really good. Slightly sweet from the onion but also savory. The sauce was thicker than I thought it would be - a nice consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2009
Made this for supper the other night and already had the chicken cooking when I realized I didn't have any applesauce. I used peanut butter instead and hoped for the best. It still turned out pretty good but I can imagine it with the applesauce, mellow and sweet. I also added a small can of sliced mushrooms to it. I will make it again, with or without the applesauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Campbell, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2009
Loved it! Great taste. Can take or leave the walnuts though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2010
This is so good! Great flavor. My husband loves chicken w/ apple or mustard and this combines both of those very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
I made 2 small changes - I lightly coated the chicken in flour to help it brown and create a nice visual contrast with the sauce and I changed the fat to half butter half olive oil. I then doubled the recipe and served it to some old friends who were practically licking the plate! Will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
I used some red and yellow onion I had already cleaned in the fridge, used milk in lieu of the half&half and left out the walnuts. I S&P'd my chicken and roasted it in the oven, then did the sauce separately and topped the chicken with it while serving with rice. The fam and I didn't care for it, but a lingering neighbour liked it alot. It's alright, but not for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMSR

Cooking Level: Expert



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Breasts with Lime Sauce

See how to make tender breaded chicken breasts in a lime and butter sauce.

Baked Honey Mustard Chicken

See how to make the perfect weeknight chicken recipe.

Honey Mustard Grilled Chicken

See how to make a great marinade and basting sauce for grilled chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States