Chicken in Onion and Mustard Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2008
I've been looking to add a little excitement to chicken and thought this recipe was outstanding. The only change I made was to leave out the walnuts as I'm not a fan. Thanks for sharing, I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2008
Pretty good! Definately use a red onion, it gives a little bit of sweet to offset the strong mustard! I used dijon mustard, and it was still quite pungent. Maybe using less mustard, and somehow incorporating bacon would make this a 5star, but as is a great 4 star. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KissTheChefette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2008
I used the ingredients and amounts in the recipe, except for using two chicken breasts. I pounded them lightly to make for equal thickness, and an instant-read thermometer reached 180 degrees in about 3 minutes per side. I sweated the onion, sliced very thin, in the remaining butter for a couple minutes before adding anything else to the skillet. Made the onion a bit sweeter, and a little easier to digest. For the mustard, I used half Grey Poupon Country Style, and half Mister Mustard, an extra-pungent Dijon-style product. Next time, I'll probably forego the Mister Mustard, and use just a bit less mustard overall -- The mustard's piquancy was quite pronounced, though pretty well balanced by the sweetness of the applesauce. Next time I think I'll also increase the amount of wine and cream to maybe 1/3 cup each. Reason: The sauce, though very tasty, became quite thick, and really ceased to be "saucy". I'd like it somewhat thinner. The walnuts added a really nice crunchy texture. I wouldn't hesitate to make this for company!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Columbus, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2009
Followed recipe as written. Very strange taste, not at all to my or my familys liking. Definitely would not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2009
This was really good. Slightly sweet from the onion but also savory. The sauce was thicker than I thought it would be - a nice consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2009
Made this for supper the other night and already had the chicken cooking when I realized I didn't have any applesauce. I used peanut butter instead and hoped for the best. It still turned out pretty good but I can imagine it with the applesauce, mellow and sweet. I also added a small can of sliced mushrooms to it. I will make it again, with or without the applesauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Campbell, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2009
Loved it! Great taste. Can take or leave the walnuts though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2010
This is so good! Great flavor. My husband loves chicken w/ apple or mustard and this combines both of those very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
I made 2 small changes - I lightly coated the chicken in flour to help it brown and create a nice visual contrast with the sauce and I changed the fat to half butter half olive oil. I then doubled the recipe and served it to some old friends who were practically licking the plate! Will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
I used some red and yellow onion I had already cleaned in the fridge, used milk in lieu of the half&half and left out the walnuts. I S&P'd my chicken and roasted it in the oven, then did the sauce separately and topped the chicken with it while serving with rice. The fam and I didn't care for it, but a lingering neighbour liked it alot. It's alright, but not for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMSR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pointe-Claire, Quebec, Canada


 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chicken Breasts with Lime Sauce

See how to make tender breaded chicken breasts in a lime and butter sauce.

Baked Honey Mustard Chicken

See how to make the perfect weeknight chicken recipe.

Baked Lemon Chicken with Mushroom Sauce

See how to make lemony chicken served with a savory mushroom sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States