Chicken In Coconut Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
This was really tasty, but definitely too sweet made as is. I will make with half coconut cream/half coconut milk next time. I did add one large green pepper, 1 TBS of fresh ginger, 4 garlic cloves and the juice of one whole lemon. Also floured, salt and peppered, pan fried the chicken until brown but pink. After removing the chicken from pan (sprinkled with 1/2 lemon juice), added the ginger/garlic/pepper/onion and cooked for few min. Then added liquid, then chicken breasts simmered uncovered for 30+- minutes, liquid reduced and browned and chicken was very tender. Added more lemon juice and served with Sambal Oelek - for more spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
This recipe is a great starting point! I used a can of coconut milk instead of coconut cream because that is what I had in the house. I used 1 TBSP of minced garlic instead of the ginger (personal taste) and I cubed up the chicken breast so they would cook faster. Once everything was cooked up I threw in some frozen peas, beans, and carrots for a one pot meal! Serve it over some jasmine rice and it is a quick, easy and great tasting meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cambridge, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2013
Loved this recipe. I was looking for a creamy sauce I could serve my son. He cannot have dairy. This was perfect. I had the ingredient on hand so didn't have to run out for anything. I did add a bit of chipotle powder but just a bit as I didn't want to make it to spice for my toddler. I think that was all I changed. We used the meat and sauce to make a chicken wrap. We filled the wrap with sweet peppers, cucumbers, lettuce, tomatoes, and avocados. My kids were both asking for more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SONYAWOOD

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
I followed this recipe exactly on every count. The sauce never thickened and the onions cooked into nothing by the time the chicken was cooked through. It was too sweet for me and lacking in spice flavor. I would have to alter this to make a thicker sauce and add more of the spices for my taste. Not sure if I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FeedMySheep

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nashville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2012
This is way to sweet. Half the cream of coconut should be more than enough-I had to add a lot more of everything to be able to eat this. It was still to sweet. You can always add more if you like it sweeter. This needs some work to make the flavor more complex.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Armenia, Quindio, Colombia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mauigirl
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
After reading the most "helpful" review I couldn't help but make this dish. The erroneous information they gave certainly would result in a very bland product as they reviewed it. As the "most helpful" reviewer said....Coconut milk and cream of coconut are the same. Sorry...NOT even close. Two entirely different products. That being said, I made it exactly as directed initially only adjusting the seasoning a bit before I served by adding about a half teaspoon of chili garlic sauce and another tablespoon of lemon juice. Next time, I will skip the water and use chicken broth instead to add more depth and I will add some red curry paste too. I would also add some fresh ginger. I served this with fried broken rice and chopped peanuts and cilantro for garnish. Very tasty indeed. (though a bit heavy on the calories) For the adjustments, I give this 4 stars. My husband and a dinner guest gave it 5 stars as served. Thanks so much for sharing a terrific recipe. This is a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mauigirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Lahaina, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2011
Great base for a recipe, but it needs more vegetables! I diced 2 chicken breasts and took the advice of another reviewer and used coconut milk instead of cream of coconut. I also added mushrooms and diced red pepper. So good, my roommate said it tasted like something she would get at her favorite Thai restaurant back home!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2011
This isn't a meal you will come home & throw together & it is not the most calorie concious you can find but my goodness it is good! Really a home cooked meal that was a treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Hartsel, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2010
I have been looking for this recipe. I left out the onions as my favorite dish at the Chinese resturant does not have them. I put walnut halves in this. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Concord, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2010
Great base recipe - used a can of coconut milk instead - is the same as using coconut cream & hot water. Poured the coconut milk in with the onions & garlic and added 1/2 tsp of lemon juice, chilli powder, ground ginger, salt and pepper before adding the chicken. Without that, I found the sauce to be a little bland. But I definitely enjoyed those spices on the chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Curried Coconut Chicken

See how to make quick-and-easy curried chicken.

Coconut Chicken Curry

What's cooking in Pearland, Texas? A sweet-and-savory fusion dish.

Chicken Breasts with Lime Sauce

See how to make tender breaded chicken breasts in a lime and butter sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States