Chicken In Coconut Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2009
This was very tasty. The onions overpowered a little bit though. I wouldn't use as much onion next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
I had a tin of coconut milk and tried this recipe. I am allergic to bell peppers and did not want a curry recipe. This chicken was so delicious that is my all time favourite now. My husband was so impressed, he told everybody about the chicken. I did not add the cup of hot water, just simmer the chicken in the coconut milk. Next time I am going to add some mushrooms and bake it in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2010
Great base recipe - used a can of coconut milk instead - is the same as using coconut cream & hot water. Poured the coconut milk in with the onions & garlic and added 1/2 tsp of lemon juice, chilli powder, ground ginger, salt and pepper before adding the chicken. Without that, I found the sauce to be a little bland. But I definitely enjoyed those spices on the chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2010
I have been looking for this recipe. I left out the onions as my favorite dish at the Chinese resturant does not have them. I put walnut halves in this. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Concord, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2011
This isn't a meal you will come home & throw together & it is not the most calorie concious you can find but my goodness it is good! Really a home cooked meal that was a treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Hartsel, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2011
Great base for a recipe, but it needs more vegetables! I diced 2 chicken breasts and took the advice of another reviewer and used coconut milk instead of cream of coconut. I also added mushrooms and diced red pepper. So good, my roommate said it tasted like something she would get at her favorite Thai restaurant back home!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mauigirl
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
After reading the most "helpful" review I couldn't help but make this dish. The erroneous information they gave certainly would result in a very bland product as they reviewed it. As the "most helpful" reviewer said....Coconut milk and cream of coconut are the same. Sorry...NOT even close. Two entirely different products. That being said, I made it exactly as directed initially only adjusting the seasoning a bit before I served by adding about a half teaspoon of chili garlic sauce and another tablespoon of lemon juice. Next time, I will skip the water and use chicken broth instead to add more depth and I will add some red curry paste too. I would also add some fresh ginger. I served this with fried broken rice and chopped peanuts and cilantro for garnish. Very tasty indeed. (though a bit heavy on the calories) For the adjustments, I give this 4 stars. My husband and a dinner guest gave it 5 stars as served. Thanks so much for sharing a terrific recipe. This is a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mauigirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Lahaina, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2012
This is way to sweet. Half the cream of coconut should be more than enough-I had to add a lot more of everything to be able to eat this. It was still to sweet. You can always add more if you like it sweeter. This needs some work to make the flavor more complex.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Armenia, Quindio, Colombia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
I followed this recipe exactly on every count. The sauce never thickened and the onions cooked into nothing by the time the chicken was cooked through. It was too sweet for me and lacking in spice flavor. I would have to alter this to make a thicker sauce and add more of the spices for my taste. Not sure if I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FeedMySheep

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nashville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2013
Loved this recipe. I was looking for a creamy sauce I could serve my son. He cannot have dairy. This was perfect. I had the ingredient on hand so didn't have to run out for anything. I did add a bit of chipotle powder but just a bit as I didn't want to make it to spice for my toddler. I think that was all I changed. We used the meat and sauce to make a chicken wrap. We filled the wrap with sweet peppers, cucumbers, lettuce, tomatoes, and avocados. My kids were both asking for more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SONYAWOOD

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Curried Coconut Chicken

See how to make quick-and-easy curried chicken.

Coconut Chicken Curry

What's cooking in Pearland, Texas? A sweet-and-savory fusion dish.

Chicken Breasts with Lime Sauce

See how to make tender breaded chicken breasts in a lime and butter sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States