Chicken In Basil Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2002
This is wonderful! The sauce is divine! I would double the sauce so you have enough to drizzle on a side of pasta. I pounded the chicken breasts so they weren't so thick, used half & half to cut down on the fat (just let it cook a little longer so it thickens), and used seasoned bread crumbs for better flavor. Also added 2-3 garlic cloves to the sauce. I would stick with fresh basil for best flavor - it really does make a difference. Scrumptious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
407 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Redwood City, California, USA
Living In: San Mateo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2009
This was a very tasty recipe. I altered the sauce recipe slightly because I wanted to season a whole box of pasta with it. I used a whole 14oz can of chicken broth, 1 cup of Parmesan, 1/2 cup fresh basil, and I kept the cream the same at 1 cup. When I made this, I let the sauce boil for 5 minute or so, constantly stirring it so that it wouldn't burn, to thicken it up a bit. This made the perfect amount for an entire box of penne pasta without being too thick or too runny. It was incredibly tasty, and I'll definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
245 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2001
Me and my husband absolutely LOVED this recipé. We loved the cream sauce the best. My husband kept on raving about it and said to make it again very soon. I served this over egg noodles. I didn't have chicken on hand and used pork cutlets and it was just as delicious. I also added garlic and scallions to the pan while cooking the pork (chicken) and also added a clove of crushed garlic to the cream sauce. (I substituted light heavy cream instead of regular heavy cream which didn't seem to make any difference in taste at all). EXCELLENT !!!!!!!!! (it made me look like a chef in the making) :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
205 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2007
I was out of chicken broth so I used white wine instead. Highly recommended!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zamgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Georgetown, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2002
Excellent recipe. I skipped the basil and pimiento, and added some red pepper. Also used 2% milk instead of heavy cream and thickened it with butter and flour. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2002
Wonderful recipe! To save preparation time, I used a packaged "shake and bake" style coating mixture and baked the chicken, then served it with the cream sauce. I added a few mushrooms to the sauce and served pasta on the side. My husband and daughter loved the flavor. Next time I might add artichoke pieces as well. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHURMAY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Zapata, Texas, USA
Living In: Denison, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2012
You don’t know me, but you’ve gotta believe me -this is good. I mean REAL good. I modified it a tad, starting with using the standard breading method of flour, egg and (seasoned) bread crumbs. I browned the chicken in a mixture of butter and olive oil to reduce the burning point temperature. Once I browned it thoroughly I cut into it and noticed it was still a little pink on the inside – no problem, I just threw it in a 325 degree oven while I prepared the sauce and cooked some pasta. While I only made two chicken breasts, I hated to waste the better portion of an 8 oz. carton of chicken broth and half a carton of cream, so I thought what the heck, I’ll use it all! I added the chicken broth to the pan first, reduced it drastically, then added the entire carton of cream and let it go until the sauce had reduced to a thick and velvety smoothness. I added the Parmesan and pimiento just before serving and topped the chicken with a basil chiffonade rather than stirring it into the sauce. The chicken was tender and moist, the coating dry, golden and crispy (rather than mushy and soggy), complemented by the luxurious, rich sauce. The pimiento was a nice touch, subtly enhancing the sauce. I’m glad I had the extra sauce - it was perfect for some nice pasta! Since this is a dinner a little on the rich side, I chose to serve it with just a few pattypan squash, lightly seasoned with butter, salt and pepper. At the risk of sounding corny, this was a GLORIOUS dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2002
If I could give this recipe 10 stars, I would! Everyone loved this dish! The "sauce" is what takes ordinary fried chicken to the next level. Fine dining! I dipped the chicken in a beaten egg instead of milk and used 2 tsp of dried basil, which was perfect. I can't wait to make again!! Thank you Emily!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2001
This is a great dish. I pounded the chicken breasts thin so they would not need to fry for long. I cut some fat out of the sauce by using 2% milk instead of heavy cream. To compensate for the loss in thickness, I started the sauce by melting some margarine and then mixing in some flour before slowly stirring in the broth and milk. Still a very tasty sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2004
This was excellent! My husband said it was like going out to a nice italian resturant. I served it with pasta and there was plenty of sauce to serve over both. Wonderful! I wish I could give it 10 stars! Thanks for the great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bakersfield, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 654) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Basil & Oregano Bruschetta Chicken

See the simple way to cook like an everyday gourmet.

Chicken Breasts in Caper Cream Sauce

See how to make chicken breasts in a creamy dill and caper sauce.

Basil Chicken Over Angel Hair

Chicken breasts are simmered in a spicy tomato and basil sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States