Chicken In Basil Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2013
This recipe was amazing! I marinated the chicken in Italian dressing for about an hour beforehand and then breaded and fried per the directions. I've found chicken really needs to be marinated in something to stay moist. The only changes that I made other than that we're to add mushrooms to three pan before the chicken broth and some cherry tomatoes halved with the cream and basil. The tomatoes really added to the dish I think. I don't usually change recipes before I try them as written, but I needed to use my tomatoes up because they are growing like crazy and I am having a hard time staying ahead of them! My husband said this chicken is so moist and delicious, and he is not a chicken fan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrsa08

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2013
A new favorite in our house! Yummmm! No leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2013
Excellent way to use up some whipping cream in my fridge. It was so easy, but had a "fancy" appeal. My husband couldn't get enough, and he thanked me for making such a delicious dinner. I believe he thinks I really worked hard on this, but little does he know just how quick and easy this is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Bellevue, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2013
It's not the healthiest way to prepare chicken but it tastes fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochelle, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2013
Despite adding 4 cloves of small garlic and an onion to the sauce while cooking, the recipe as written turned out too bland. So I spiced it up by adding a half a tomato and two sprigs of fresh rosemary. After that, it was good, but this recipe takes a lot of additions to make it taste that way. My husband loved it and said he thought it came from an Italian restaurant. We served it over zucchini noodles made to Alton Brown's specifications. They were the best part of the meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2013
Delicious! I substituted sun dried tomatoes for the pimentos and added some red pepper flakes. Everyone loved the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2013
Yum! I think my husband thought this was the best meal I ve cooked in years. Really easy to make but so nice. Will definitely make this again many times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2013
delicious! We didn't have any pimentos and yet it still tasted wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2013
We didn't care for this. The sauce was okay, but the whole dish was just strange for us. I think it would be better if you just grill the chicken or even make real fried chicken and then make the sauce separately. Definitely didn't like the breading on the chicken cooked in the butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marion Myers

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2013
I was looking for a way to use some of the Basil I have in my garden and came across this little gem. It was so easy, I really didn't have high expectations, but it is fantastic. I followed the directions, except I used a jar of roasted red peppers. As always when I am breading chicken, I flattened it slightly with my meat mallet, browned it on both sides, but threw it in the oven for 10 minutes to finish cooking (I think this makes for a more tender chicken, and I can finish the sauce on the stove while the chicken cooks in the oven). I served over Angel Hair Pasta, but next time will double the sauce if I am serving over pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Macomb, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 661) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Basil & Oregano Bruschetta Chicken

See the simple way to cook like an everyday gourmet.

Basil Chicken Over Angel Hair

Chicken breasts are simmered in a spicy tomato and basil sauce.

Chicken in Cream Sauce

See how to make this savory Salvadorian stewed chicken dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States