Chicken In Basil Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2012
I loved this and will definitely make it again. I found the sauce slightly floury, so next time I'll adjust to make it thinner, probably by increasing the chicken broth. Overall delicious, though, and a great use for my home grown basil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2012
very good flavor. I subsituted roasted red peppers for the pimento (close enough/what I had on hand) and found the sauce to be a bit thin so I added 1.5Tb flour to the sauce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Katie Compton
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2012
What an amazing sauce! Loved every bit of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katie Compton

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Longview, Texas, USA
Living In: White Oak, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2012
Yumm! Just mouth watering. I didn't have any pimento, still delicious. I served with roast potatoes, but pasta would be just as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WhittheCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Abilene, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2012
Excellent! I only substituted 1/2 and 1/2 for the heavy cream and doubled the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lenexa, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2012
I followed directions just as said and it was excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanielynn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2012
This is heavenly! Be sure you get a nice crusty brown on the chicken before saucing it, just like in the photo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pulcinello

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2012
I THINK THIS IS A DELICIOUS SAUCE TO SERVE OVER CHICKEN, WHICH NEEDS A SAUCE BECAUSE CHICKEN WHITE MEAT CAN SOMETIMES BE DRY. I USED CHICKEN CUTLETS BECAUSE THEY ARE MORE TENDER AND DON'T TAKE AS LONG TO COOK. IT MADE ENOUGH SAUCE TO PUT OVER RICE OR NOODLES. I JUST SERVED MY HUSBAND AND I, AND IT ALLOWED ME TO HAVE PLENTY OF SAUCE TO HEAT UP FOR THE NEXT NIGHT. THE SAUCE IS SO GOOD THAT THE SECOND TIME I MADE IT, I NEGLECTED TO BUY THE PIMENTO PEPPERS AND I MADE IT WITHOUT THEM AND IT WAS STILL A TASTY SAUCE. THANKS SO MUCH FOR THIS 5 STAR RECIPE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2012
EASIEST recipe to make.. and it's BEYOND delicious!! And the best part is that my 9 year old, picky eater, loves it.. he licks his fork dry and asks for more sauce! ha
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2012
This was very, very good. The reason for my 4 star rating was because I swapped fresh garlic for pimento peppers. I think this was key and with the pimento peppers instead of the garlic this would have lacked a lot of flavor. I made some other substitutions to make this more friendly to my waistline: -used fat free half-n-half in place of heavy cream -I pounded the chicken thin and coated a pan with 2 tsp of olive oil before broiling the chicken instead of frying it -I cooked some whole-grain pasta and let it finish cooking (the last 2 mins) in the sauce and then ate that alongside the chicken. I'll make this over and over again using these modifications. The change to the half-n-half and butter saved 166 calories and 21 grams of fat per serving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 684) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sweet Basil & Oregano Bruschetta Chicken

See the simple way to cook like an everyday gourmet.

Chicken Breasts in Caper Cream Sauce

See how to make chicken breasts in a creamy dill and caper sauce.

Basil Chicken Over Angel Hair

Chicken breasts are simmered in a spicy tomato and basil sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States