Chicken in a Pot Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Sharon K
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2014
I was skeptical at first but after making a few changes this was a home run! I know other people suggested not breading the chicken but I think it does make a difference. I added chili flakes to the sauce for an extra kick. I also doubled the sauce as others suggested. I didn't have oregano on its own so I used Italian seasoning and it was fine. I also added a bit of balsamic vinegar while it was cooking which I think made the dish. Over all a great recipe that you can play around with. I served it over rice with a side of veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sharon K

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2014
Great recipe for a quick dinner. Definitely need to double the sauce. I used a garlic wine seasoning and I only had lemon pepper bread crumbs. I think these two changes enhanced the recipe by giving it a little zing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2014
I really enjoyed this recipe. It was easy and tasty. I did add a pinch of red pepper flake and about 1/2 cup more broth. I served with steamed broccoli for a healthy meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie Harroll

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2014
I really loved this dish. Tasty and so easy to make. I also added green bell peppers. You could really add almost any vegs. I did double the sauce recipe so it was perfect. Made it with rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2014
Pic looked great and I expected the meal to be fabulous based on all the wonderful reviews, but sadly I was disappointed! I followed everything step by step (at first) and I found it to be very bland...so I had to make some additions...and "spice it up"!! I added some fresh thyme, fresh and powdered onion, fresh red peppers, increased the garlic cloves to 6-7 pieces along with the powder...threw in a little white sugar (1 tsp). Dashed in some Jamaican Chicken Seasoning, ketchup, parmesan cheese and tabasco/cayenne pepper in the sauce. I wish I can give measurements, but I can't!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Mount Vernon, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
Good but not good enough to keep in the recipe rotation. In fact, my husband told me the recipe wasn't worth keeping at all. I think you could skip the bread crumbs all together since they turn to mush and add only empty calories. The flavor was just ok and I added red wine to the sauce too. Other than that I made exactly to the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jgilbo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
Made this tonight for dinner. It was really easy and tasty! I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
This recipe was just OK. I followed exactly as stated with the exception of doubling the sauce. Several reviewers have stated that it was bland. I did not think it was bland it was just too common. It almost reminded me of school lunch or hospital cafeteria food. I'm not sure why but my chicken was even a little dry. While we did eat the meal and it wasn't horrible, it also wasn't scrumptious. I will not be making this on again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wtpooh

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2013
Very tasty! I only changed one thing. After the chicken was cooked, I added the mushrooms to the skillet with a little more oil and salt and browned them. I then added the chicken back and continued with the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Waltham, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Natick, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2013
Was just ok. I made it as directed except I didn't take the chicken out of the sauce to thicken. I also doubled the sauce based on the other reviews. Definitely need to do that! My husband added some parm cheese and italian seasoning to his plate and he even said it was still missing something. I thought it was ok. Nothing fantastic. Just different than the usual dinner. If I make again, I will probably add some cayenne pepper, italian seasoning, onion powder, and maybe some more garlic. Just to add a kick of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 227) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Ultimate Chicken Pot Pie

This fantastic comfort-food classic is easy and so delicious.

Chicken Pot Pie IX

See how to make a delicious one-pot meal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States