Chicken in a Pot Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2007
This is a fantastic dish! My husband ate his over rice and I had mine over whole grain pasta. Served with a green bean and carrot mixture (French blend of Haricot Vert Green Beans, Wax Beans, and Baby Carrots), it was a complete meal. I DEFINATELY agree with the other reviewers in that there is not enough sauce. I would use more like the following: 5 cups chicken broth 6oz. can tomato paste 1 2/3 teaspoon ground black pepper 3 1/3 teaspoon dried oregano 1 teaspoon salt 6-7 cloves garlic, minced 4-6 boneless, skinless chicken breast halves 3/4 cup dry bread crumbs 2-4 teaspoons olive oil 16oz. fresh mushrooms (sliced)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
86 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Owensboro, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2003
I was confused by whether the ingredient is tomato paste or tomato sauce - if you read closely, you'll see both are mentioned. I decided to use paste, and it seemed to work. I pounded the breasts thin to ensure even cooking, and I used Italian herb-flavored chicken broth as well as Italian seasoned bread crumbs. The sauce was just enough for two breasts, so I agree with the other reviewers that you would need to increase all of the sauce ingredients if you were serving this for more than two. With all of that nitpickiness out of the way, I must say that this recipe is very good. The breasts were moist, the flavor was satisfying. It is going into my regular repertoire.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2002
This was VERY tasty. My husband LOVED it as well. I do agree with the other reviewer that it was not enough, and also put this on top of rice. I would also recommend doubling the sauce recipe if you are going to add rice...this way there is extra sauce for the rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2001
Yummmm-Yummmm. Only critique I have of this dish is that it may not be enough-I have tried it on both beds of pasta (angel hair) and rice with great success. The sause rocks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2006
At home alone one night and did not want to make a big fuss over dinner. This was great. It was super quick! Next time I will omit the bread crumbs due to they really did nothing for the dish. When you simmer with sauce and cover they get soggy. The chicken however was excellent, very tender. The sauce was one of the best I have had with chicken. Served with white rice and steamed summer squash. Leftovers were even better! Thanx again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Boyar Ha Ha

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gainesville, Georgia, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2006
While I was making this, all of a sudden, I had a memory of my mother making this same dish when I was little. So this gets 5 stars for not only tasting great, but bringing back memories! I used bone in chicken breasts, and used zucchini instead of mushrooms for my husbands tastes. I also didn't remove the chicken to let the sauce thicken, I just let it all cook together for about 40 minutes covered on medium low, and served the sauce over the chicken and rice. A delicious and easy meal! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hatboro, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2005
I enjoyed this recipe very much. i added a 1/4 cup of red wine and used cornstarch at the end to thicken the sauce. served with rice... a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2004
Delicious! Quick and easy, too. I more than doubled the sauce, as well as the garlic. Having an abundance of potatoes from our summer garden, I served with mashed potatoes (with lots of sauce) and sauteed spinach (with lots of garlic). Yum - the family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2005
Well, the next day I had half a can of tomato paste left, so I made this again, with some variation. I just used water instead of the chicken broth (the broth made it too salty), I added onion instead of mushrooms, and I also added a couple tablespoons of cream cheese to the sauce mixture (heat it up to melt the cheese in the microwave). The cream cheese gave it a really creamy texture and flavor, and my boyfriend loved it! And I usually suck at cooking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2005
Pretty good, I'll make again, but I suggest increasing the portion in the sauce, there was barely enough once I was done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 227) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Ultimate Chicken Pot Pie

This fantastic comfort-food classic is easy and so delicious.

Chicken Pot Pie IX

See how to make a delicious one-pot meal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States