Chicken in a Pot Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 16)
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2009
I would give this recipe 3.5 stars, but I took some liberties with it. Per many reviewers' advice, I doubled the recipe and added 3 tomatoes (reducing broth by 1/2 cup to adjust for add'l liquid from tomatoes). This ended up being too watery and washed away the bread crumbs. I will try the recipe's suggestion next time. I also used chicken thighs instead of breast and that was fine. Simmering for 20 minutes didn't seem to cook the meat through enough, so I increased the heat to high and boiled for another 15 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
A delicately flavored dish. Compiled and cooked according to recipe it was Perfect. If one's taste leans towards a dish heavy on sauce then do double the sauce ingredients. But as it is - a nice accent to the chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2008
We really loved this! It's one of our favorites and on rotation. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookingInSeattle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
This recipe was just ok at best. It seemed to be missing something - there was not a lot of flavor. Very easy to prepare and healthy but not sure I'll ever make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2008
The first time I made this, we really enjoyed it. But the comments about the sauce is correct. You definately need more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2008
This seems way too simple to be so good! The only thing I changed was to use flour instead of bread crumbs to dredge the chicken, but I also doubled the sauce. Even my picky eater loved the sauce over brown rice. I'm always looking for EASY and new ways to prepare chicken - this is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2008
I altered this recipe some. I used a can of diced tomatoes, 2 large cloves of garlic, 1 tbs oregano, 1 tbs basil, 4 drops tabasco, 2 cans of mushrooms. I prepared the meat the way mentioned here. I would suggest not bothering with the breadcrumbs. it is just an extra mess. Fry it 2 min on both sides and then blot off the extra grease with a paper towel. then add to the mixture. I didnt put it over anything and it was still really good. Overall, a quick meal with little prep and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marette

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Berea, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2008
This was very good. I forgot to save it in my recipe file and have been serching for it all week. I doubled the sauce recipe and cut the chicken into bite size chuncks before frying and served over speghetti. It was excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Providence, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Johnston, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2008
divine meal!!i followed the review from elizabeth and doubled the sauce which was a must!also added extra mushrooms and served with rice and topped with parmesan cheese lovely meal with a bottle of rose!love it thanks a million!also added red wine gave the sauce a lovely rich flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2008
Must have done something wrong or maybe one of the key ingredients went bad. Dunno, just really bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joyhan Sung

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 151-160 (of 233) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Pot Pie I

This chicken pot pie tastes like you did a ton of work--but it's easy as pie.

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Chicken Pot Pie IX

See how to make a delicious one-pot meal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States