Chicken Honey Mustard Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by ONIOND
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2008
I love it. I marinaded in a mixture of stuff, including some honey and mustard. The soy sauce was still very noticeable, though. The only other change I made was to add some other veggies, since that's the only way to get DBF to eat them. Used the Never, Never Fail Pie Pastry recipe from this site (minus vanilla) for the crust. We both had two pieces, and I look forward to leftovers for lunch tomorrow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ONIOND

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2007
This was good but needed more filling for all that crust. I used 3 large chicken breasts. Next time I think I would add more veggies - maybe some celery, red pepper and mushrooms. You could add another breast, but it did seem to have plenty of meat. I don't think I'd name this honey mustard as those flavors were overpowered by the soy sauce - I think I might try cutting the soy sauce in half in hopes the honey mustard flavor would be more noticable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norristown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Salisbury, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2007
Wow! I made this for supper today and it was a really big hit. I didn't have any 9" pie crusts on hand, but I did have a bunch of 8" crusts, so I scaled the recipe by 1.5 in order to fill two crusts. I was hoping to have some left to freeze or to serve tomorrow, but that's not looking too likely at this point. Other than the scaling, I followed the recipe to the letter (since there was no time given for marinating the chicken, I just left it in a zippered bag overnight). I served it with mashed potatoes, which made a really nice accompaniment for it. I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2006
This pie was pretty good. Basically it was just like a chicken stirfry in pastry. Hubby did add some mushrooms & some peas & corn as he though it needed something else in it, but it tasted good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Shannon
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2006
This was an incredibly savory pie with a tangy kick that was just right! I diced the carrots in small pieces. I was afraid that they would not cook thoroughly otherwise. Aside from that, I followed the recipe to the letter with one MAJOR exception - I am a vegetarian, so I had to substitute "mock" chicken for the chicken called for in the recipe. It turned out great. I think that this would be a major hit at any dinner party or gathering. Who doesn't love honey mustard?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2006
This was really good. My husband loved it. I used whole grain mustard and I added mushrooms instead of potatoes (served mash on the side) I think i added a bit too much corn startch though cuz once it cooled down it got a bit too gelatin like for my liking (I've never made pie before though so you live and learn)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by evenstarlight

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bristol, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
I added frozen green beans and potatoes which I think were necessary otherwise there wouldn't have been enough to the filling. Unfortunately I left out the soy sauce and it turned out too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2002
I love this recipe! We have made it several times and every time it comes out perfect. Its a great change from the typical chicken pot pie, and even my boyfriend who doesn't like mustard likes this. I always add one large baking potato cut into bite size pieces to make it more of a meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
What a great twist on traditional pot pie. I had a 9 inch frozen pie crust on hand that I used for the bottom layer, and made a quick top crust using a simple recipie I found on this website. I agree with others that it could have used a little more filling- next time I'll use two cups of frozen veggies instead of one. I also didn't have cornstartch on hand, but a simple roux (flour and water) thickened up the sauce nicely. I think this is a new favorite for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2005
Yummy pie! I put 2 cups of stock instead, added a few sliced potatoes and almost 2 Tbs. honey instead of 3. I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Honey Mustard Grilled Chicken

See how to make a great marinade and basting sauce for grilled chicken.

Easy Honey Mustard Mozzarella Chicken

Baked chicken is glazed with honey-mustard and topped with bacon and cheese.

Baked Honey Mustard Chicken

See how to make the perfect weeknight chicken recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States