Chicken Hobo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2003
Since we tried this recipe, we've gone nuts with it. Everybody wants to do their own little "packet" and pick their own vegetables. Nothing gets waisted, everybody's happy and THE GRILL STAYS CLEAN. We'll be doing this all summer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2007
I do this in the oven AND on the grill. If you get a seasoned or marinated piece of meat the veggies are even more flavorful let alone the meat. This is a HUGE hit with the kids and with me... I love the lack of clean up!!! Also... I think those over cooked potatoes on the bottom are delish!! Turn half way through cooking to avoid scorching. Mini carrots caramelize and are fabulous! Haven't had this recipe listed... but make mine fequently.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Alyson
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2007
Sooo good! And surprisingly juicey! I seared my chicken breasts in a pan first and than placed the chicken ontop of red potatoes and carrots. I added an onion slice ontop of that and than followed the rest of the recipe. I did cook my red potatoes in the microwave for 3 mins after they were chopped. I read other reviews saying their potatoes weren't cooked all the way through and that would solve the problem. A total keeper! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alyson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Hammondsport, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2003
Everyone loved it. I liked the cleanup. My problem was the potatoes on the bottom of the foil pouch burned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shelley Hafsa Eideh

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Owatonna, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Salem, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
I've made this/similar recipes by double-layering the foil and putting it on the outskirts of a campfire, on a grill, in the oven, and w/o the foil en masse in a pressure cooker. I don't add butter to it, but instead add zesty italian dressing over the top. Everyone I've ever served this to has loved it and has started doing it themselves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stilltrusting

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlisle, Iowa, USA
Living In: Yuma, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2010
Very good and easy. I sprayed the aluminum foil with cooking spray to keep the potatoes from sticking. I had no problem with them burning. But, I made sure to flip the packet over so they weren't on the bottom. The only change I would make would be to marinate the chicken ahead of time to give it some more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
We made this on the campfire coals and it was a big success! Spray the foil. We changed the order from the bottom building up; Slice of onion(buffer to keep chicken from burning), then chicken, bacon, potatoes, carrots, mushrooms, butter & also added Lawry's Garlic and Herb Marinade.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2012
Used only 3 sliced peppered bacon; about 10 small varied colored potatoes; 3 breasts (that's what came in the pkg); a very large onion; and, 1/4 cup butter. Also seasoned the breasts and browned first, while cooking the bacon somewhat to lose a little of the fat. Removed the browned breasts and placed the onion on the bottom of dutch oven, potatoes and carrots next, then the chicken, and finally the bacon on top before adding the diced butter. Placed the lid on the dish and cooked at 350 about an hour, and then turned to 300 until dinner, about another hour. The chicken was tender, as were all the veges and the bacon gave the dish a decidedly spicy flair. There was quite a bit of "gravy" on the bottom, probably because the onion had cooked away to nothing and mingled with the bacon drippings and butter. Easy and complete meal in one pot. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grampnana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2011
Instead of chopping the onion you can slice them medium-thick and make a "bed" for the rest of the ingredients to sit on. This helps prevent burning. Works especially well this way when cooking over a campfire.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by capecodmom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
I used some finely chopped garlic and rosemary instead of garlic salt and baked this in the oven and served it with some boiled rutabaga and broccoli. This is delicious and soooooo simple! I LOVED IT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Todd

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Chico, California, USA
Living In: Trondheim, Sor-Trondelag, Norway

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Marinated Grilled Chicken II

Simple recipe that helps combat dry chicken blues.

Jenny’s Grilled Chicken Breasts

Watch how to make this recipe for top-rated grilled chicken.

How to Grill Chicken Better

Get tips for prepping and grilling crusty, juicy chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States