Chicken Gruyere with Sauteed Mushrooms Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2009
Mushrooms and cheese - what more could a chicken want? This was rich, satisfying and oh, so subtly flavored. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigShotsMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Long Beach, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2009
It was very easy to make. The flavors were simple, so I will add more herbs next time and use better wine. This is great for comfort food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tammie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2009
I love this dish. Have made it twice and it was a snap both times, yet tasted like I had slaved over the stove. I did not, and would not, change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2009
Excellent dish. I made a few substitutions- I used portobello mushrooms, and fennel seed instead of dill because I did not have dill available. I also used the purdue ready-made roasted chicken strips, and swiss cheese instead of gruyere. It was delicious! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2009
I really enjoyed the rich flavor of this dish - the sauce was amazing! Because some reviewers had said the chicken was bland, I marinated my chicken breasts in OVV, garlic, and white wine. I also dipped it in egg prior to the flour and browned it in OVV,instead of butter,and added more crushed garlic as I think there is no such thing as too much garlic. I made a rue with the extra seasoned flour after the mushrooms and onions were soft to which I added wine to make a decent amount of sauce. I just eyeballed the amount, but 1/2 cup of wine was not enough - in fact, I only cooked 2 large chicken breasts and used the amounts of stuff it had called for 4. I used Jarlsberg as I was out of Gruyere. I served it over white rice - and the sauce over the rice - fabulous!! I'm sorry I don't have any left for lunch today!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gourmet wannabes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Decatur, Illinois, USA
Living In: Cowiche, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2009
A weeknight favourite for us. The gruyere cheese is imperative....don't try to substitute any other cheese, or it will be bland and lack the nutty flavor that makes this recipe so tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2009
My husband and I loved this recipe. We love gruyere cheese so this was a real treat for us. The chicken was very moist and the flavors blended nicely together. I followed the recipe to a "T". Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2009
This was a wonderful recipe! I had to change it based on the ingredients I had on hand. I pounded the chicken breast flat per personal preference. I used fresh basil instead of parsley, i only had a little bit of fresh mushrooms so I used some dehydrated wild mushrooms, including dehyrated morrels that I rehydrated. I only had about 1/4 cup of red cooking wine and didn't want to open a bottle of white so I used the red wine and some chicken broth from my daughters left over chicken soup to deglaze the pan. I think I could have used chicken broth instead of wine altogether if i had to. I didn't have Gruyere cheese but I had shredded swiss and a block of romano that I grated. The combination of the two was wonderful. I had a bunch of liquid on the bottom of the pan that tasted delicious, I spooned it over the cheese to get the added flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2008
This is delicious. My Mom made it for Christmas dinner a few years ago...everyone raved about it. Now all we have to do is mention gruyere cheese and everyone starts talking about Mom's chicken recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2008
Very yummy! But agree with others that the actual chicken was lacking flavor. The mushroom onion sauce was amazing though! I've made this twice. Once with white wine and dill as called for. Once with dry sherry and thyme. Really preferred the sherry and thyme. I can't see where 8oz of gruyere is needed. I used about 4 and it was still very cheesy. I will make this again but maybe marinade or season the chicken. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MATTSBELLY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 170) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken with Mushrooms

Breaded chicken breasts are baked with mushrooms and melty mozzarella.

Chef John's Chicken and Mushrooms

Make a delicious dinner with just two basic ingredients! Technique is the trick.

Easy Italian Chicken II

Discover a terrific shortcut to flavorful Italian-inspired baked chicken breasts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States