Chicken Gruyere with Sauteed Mushrooms Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2010
This was awesome! How can you go wrong with butter, wine and cheese? I will definitely make this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal Dawn

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lacey, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
I loved this recipe! I made it exactly as directed except for substituting basil in for dill, because I did not have any dill on hand. I also used dried parsley instead of fresh. I thought that this recipe came out great, it was better than eating out in my opinion! My only concern was that this took about 35 minutes to prep. all ingredients and then around 12 minutes to brown the chicken and then 30 minutes of baking. I will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by newchefgirl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
I went against the French and used olive oil to brown chicken; worked fine and saved some calories. I also added a bit of minced garlic. Ate plain (not over rice or noodles). It was GREAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
It was ok. Little bland. The cheese was great as were the mushrooms. It just needed some salt and pepper I guess?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawn in CT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Southbury, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2010
This was a nice light dish....and quick and easy to prepare. I used a Reisling wine that we had on hand...would have turned out better with a dryer wine such as a Chardonnay. More gruyere cheese would be a great addition as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fargo, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2010
First I must say that I'm not a fan of any kind of smothered meats. I made this for my husband as he tried it at a restaurant and loved it; however, the restaurant recipe was a bit different and I may try it their way next time. I think there were way too many mushrooms and the onions should have been diced. I will also kick up the spices in the flour as the flavor was bland. I will also add sliced tomato on top of the chicken (restaurant recipe) before the cheese. Hubby is not a fan of tomatoes but loves them this way. Oh, and don't forget to pound the chicken! Very important!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen Weber

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Glenolden, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Haddon Heights, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2010
This was fabulous. I made it exactly as stated. I would say you could easily cover 6 chicken breasts with all these ingredients. A keeper for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BABSKITCHEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2010
My family loved this one....I did use baby bella mushrooms as my mushroom of choice. The only thing I did different was to use chicken broth instead of the wine....so it would be more kid friendly. Very moist and juicy, my girls loved it! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2010
This was a very delicious, satisfying dish. I wouldn't call it quick, but not overly complicated, either. The best "change" I made was to use the original recipe, but use 6 medium sized chicken breasts. I put 4 in one cassarole dish and two in another smaller one so they were all laying flat. I just divided the mushroom/onion/wine mixture over them and gave each piece it's fair share of cheese at the end, and it worked out great! This way I made more without multiplying any ingredients (esp the pricey cheese). I did use the gruyere, which was $10 for the 8 ounces. That didn't bother me as much as having to shred all of it. If you can buy it shredded, do it. That would cut of 1/2 the prep time. I followed the recipe exactly, other than only left it in the oven until the cheese melted at the end, less than 10 min. I did cover the dish in the oven as stated in the recipe, which I will do again. The chicken was moist and tender, and I didn't pound it before hand. The breasts were not the huge ones you sometimes get in frozen bags, though. If they were, I can see they may need some pounding. Served over rice with yeast rolls and peas on the side. The peas were probably overkill, as the mushrooms and onions certainly provide enough veggies for one meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiina Dygert Hazelett

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2010
Tasty! The gruyere cheese is good with the onions & mushrooms. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 167) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chicken with Mushrooms

Breaded chicken breasts are baked with mushrooms and melty mozzarella.

Chef John's Chicken and Mushrooms

Make a delicious dinner with just two basic ingredients! Technique is the trick.

Garlic-Lemon Double Stuffed Chicken

See how to make cheese-stuffed chicken breasts drenched with a lemon-butter sauce

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States