Chicken Gruyere with Sauteed Mushrooms Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2008
This dish was amazingly delicious! It tasted a lot like chicken marsala. The only recommendation I have is to add more gruyere!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2008
Oh my goodness, so delicious! I subbed what I had at hand and made a few changes. I used Swiss cheese (magnificent) and I used sherry instead of white whine, which I recommend 100%. I didn't have enough onion so I added some shallots and some garlic. I cut the chicken up into pieces and breaded them with bread crumbs and seasonings. Don't use Italian seasonings in this one - oregano really detracts. But the dill is really nice. I want to make this over and over and over again, with more sauce next time and over pasta. My boyfriend got really excited at the thought of having it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2008
One of my new favorites! The only thing i did differently was dip the chicken in an egg wash before dredging in flour like a reviewer suggested. The Gruyere was about 7 bucks for just 8 ounces but was totally worth it. Thank you awsome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brianne

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Hempstead, New York, USA
Living In: Renton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2007
My picky husband and I loved this. I followed the recipe as is. If you can find Gruyere cheese in your market it's worth the splurge. It melts so beautifully and really complements this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ErinW

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brookville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2007
a keeper- Gruyere is similar to Swiss
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bhappe

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2007
I gave this 5 stars! What a great recipe to share with guests. I did follow a few of the others reviews by sauteing the onions, mushrooms and adding 2 cloves of garlic. Thanks for the great taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2007
This was great! I used a good swiss cheese instead of gruyere, and also used fat free cream of chicken soup mixed with water for the sauce. I also used egg instead of milk, and dredged through italian bread crumbs. My husband loved it! This will be one of my regulars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2007
This smelled terrible while it cooked, but tasted better than it smelled. I used Chukar (partridge) instead of chicken, but other than that I followed the recipe. It wasn't amazing, but it wasn't gross. It's also very rich, so people don't eat much of it. I suggest pairing it with a side dish that's light. Probably won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Adams, Michigan, USA
Living In: East Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2007
I loved this! I cut the onion to a half onion since they are bigger now. I also used portabello mushrooms instead of regular mushrooms. Next time I would also add a couple of cloves of pressed garlic to the sauted mushrooms and onions. My family loved this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Unionville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2007
I just made this for dinner tonight and I couldn't wait to finish cleaning the kitchen so I could get on the computer and rate the recipe! If I could give it 10 stars I would! This was love at first taste for the whole family! I guess it became our favorite recipe on the site after our first bite! The only thing I changed was I added some fresh minced garlic to the onions and mushrooms! I served it with a side of ziti and steamed broccoli. Yummy Thank you for such a winning recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dorothy F

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Yorktown Heights, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 166) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Chicken and Mushrooms

Make a delicious dinner with just two basic ingredients! Technique is the trick.

Chicken with Mushrooms

Breaded chicken breasts are baked with mushrooms and melty mozzarella.

Garlic-Lemon Double Stuffed Chicken

See how to make cheese-stuffed chicken breasts drenched with a lemon-butter sauce

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States