Chicken Gruyere with Sauteed Mushrooms Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2015
I loved the flavors of this, but my chicken turned out tough. I'm not sure how to avoid that with the cooking on stove and then finishing in oven method. Other than that, it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by HotTexasMomma
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
I made a few minor modifications and this dish was super tasty and easy to make. I doubled the parsley in the flour dredge mixture and added 2 smashed and chopped garlic cloves when sautéing the mushroom and onions. I also reserved some of the flour mix and added it and a little more butter before pouring in the wine. Finally, I used about half a cup of heavy cream to give the sauce more texture. I figured with all the butter and cheese I may as well go all the way with the fat content! Served over vermicelli with steamed petite peas on the side. A lovely dinner that me and my husband devoured. I'll make this again for sure, next time probably for family and friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2014
One of our favorites!! The only change I make, is I caramelize the onions on the side, and then put on top of chicken as about to serve. I've made without the mushrooms and wine, if I forgot or didn't have on hand, and it still turns out good. Obviously adding those in give a different depth of flavor. This is pretty easy to make, I HIGHLY recommend!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
Runny after baking. Will thicken next timel
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2014
I was so disappointed with this dish. I made and served it for guests and I was not only unhappy myself but embarrassed my guests had to eat it. I took several reviewer's suggestions and added onion and garlic powder to the flour for dredging-chicken was horribly bland. The sauce was runny and flavorless even though I used pressed fresh garlic to add flavor. Sorry but this recipe does not get my vote. Even the triple amount of cheese could not liven up this dish. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
Excellent, loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dermchris

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Frankfort, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
Made this last night, and it was fantastic. However I changed the recipe somewhat. I used shallots instead of onion. I also baked the chicken for 10 minutes initially, and only 5 more minutes after adding the cheese. Turned out well. Got the thumbs up from the Mrs and I'd definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Longview, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
The pictures looks delicious. I didn't know Gruyere cheese was so expensive. I added basil and lemon juice. My husband love the dish and asked me to make it for Thanksgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2013
This is a fantastic recipe! So much different than all the other chicken stuff I make. Family loved it unanimously! I cook a lot, and it's hard to find a one pan dish that everyone likes! The onions and mushrooms stay nice and big, so they can be avoided if someone doesn't like them.. It reminded me of french onion soup....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
Made this exactly as written...the mushrooms had the most flavor. Won't make it again - gruyere is costly too!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Traverse City, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 170) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Chicken with Mushrooms

Breaded chicken breasts are baked with mushrooms and melty mozzarella.

Chef John's Chicken and Mushrooms

Make a delicious dinner with just two basic ingredients! Technique is the trick.

Easy Italian Chicken II

Discover a terrific shortcut to flavorful Italian-inspired baked chicken breasts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States