Chicken Gruyere with Sauteed Mushrooms Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2014
I was so disappointed with this dish. I made and served it for guests and I was not only unhappy myself but embarrassed my guests had to eat it. I took several reviewer's suggestions and added onion and garlic powder to the flour for dredging-chicken was horribly bland. The sauce was runny and flavorless even though I used pressed fresh garlic to add flavor. Sorry but this recipe does not get my vote. Even the triple amount of cheese could not liven up this dish. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
Excellent, loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dermchris

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Frankfort, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
Made this last night, and it was fantastic. However I changed the recipe somewhat. I used shallots instead of onion. I also baked the chicken for 10 minutes initially, and only 5 more minutes after adding the cheese. Turned out well. Got the thumbs up from the Mrs and I'd definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Longview, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
The pictures looks delicious. I didn't know Gruyere cheese was so expensive. I added basil and lemon juice. My husband love the dish and asked me to make it for Thanksgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2013
This is a fantastic recipe! So much different than all the other chicken stuff I make. Family loved it unanimously! I cook a lot, and it's hard to find a one pan dish that everyone likes! The onions and mushrooms stay nice and big, so they can be avoided if someone doesn't like them.. It reminded me of french onion soup....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
Made this exactly as written...the mushrooms had the most flavor. Won't make it again - gruyere is costly too!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Traverse City, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2012
I don't think gruyere is meant to top something. It's great on a sandwich in between bread but on chicken it turns rubbery really quick. I hated it but my husband seemed to love it. Thanks though.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2012
I loved this dish! I am on a high protein, low carb diet and this was awesome thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Signorafarfalla

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2012
This was good but was dissapointed because the cheese harden so quickly after serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 166) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken with Mushrooms

Breaded chicken breasts are baked with mushrooms and melty mozzarella.

Chef John's Chicken and Mushrooms

Make a delicious dinner with just two basic ingredients! Technique is the trick.

Chicken a la Mayo

See how to make succulent baked chicken with a crispy, corn flake crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States