Chicken Gravy Enchilada Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2002
This was delicious, but I was a little confused about the directions. I didn't know why I needed to simmer it for 2 hours when the chicken was already cooked, so I simmered for less than 1/2 and hour and put it in the oven. I also made more than 2 layers because I had enough ingredients. It was still very yummy and I will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KTWhite

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bridgewater, Vermont, USA
Living In: White River Junction, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2001
Delicious, delicious, delicious, this receipe is perfect! I followed it entirely the first time we made it and then improved the second...it was fabulous both times! We added more of a variety of vegetables the second time and there wasn't any complaining from the kids for 'having' to eat their vegies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2004
This was outstanding...my daughter and I had seconds, and my son had thirds!!! The only disappointment I had was that it was a little too soupy for my liking. I will make it again, but I think I will had a little cornstarch to thicken it up a bit. Thanks for an awesome dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2011
My wife and I liked this a lot. I made a few touch-ups: - I veganized the recipe by using seitan instead of chicken. I lightly browned the seitan in a couple tablespoons of canola oil. Seitan is a high-protein veggie meat made primarily from wheat gluten; it's available in Whole Foods-type stores and sometimes "regular" grocery stores. In recipes, it has a taste and texture similar to chicken. There are lots of recipes for it online, but I always buy it ready-made from a package. I also used Follow Your Heart vegan cheddar (though my first choice, had I not had leftovers to use up, would have been Daiya vegan cheddar). - Mindful of other reviewers' comments, I added some garlic powder to the mixture as well as some corn starch for thickening. I served it kind of half over, half next to rice, for which I added a bit of Mexcan spices to the broth. I lightly spooned salsa verde on top of the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by garyloewenthal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Falls Church, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2004
EASY ! I USED A CHICKEN I COOKED IN CROCK POT (DEBONED) AND CANNED GRAVY. MY FAMILY LOVED IT! TOPPED WITH SOUR CREAM, TACO SAUSE AND LETTUCE. YUMMY!A NEW FAMILY FAVORITE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2006
My family loved this recipe. These are the changes I made: *omitted water *added 1/2 tsp cumin *added additional garlic *used sharp cheddar cheese and about a cup more than the recipe calls for *used shallots in place of onion *added 1 cup of shredded potato to thicken it some. It was still a little soupy but did thicken as it cooled a bit. So it turned out just right after adding the potato. I served this with red rice on the side and I got rave reviews from my picky family! This will become a regular in my home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2004
My husband liked the flavor, but it was way too soupy for me. If there is a next time making this for me, I'll leave out the extra water and thicken with a little corn starch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2004
In this recipe I do not see that it calls for cooked chicken as one reader suggested or am I missing something?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2007
I made this for 4 servings. I oven baked the chicken breasts ahead of time. Since the chicken was already cooked, I put all the ingredients in the frying pan and simmered it for 15 minutes. I also added 3/4 cup of raw rice while simmering. After arranging all ingredients in the baking dish, I covered it and baked it for 35 minutes, uncovered it and let it bake for another 15 minutes. Adding the rice really helped it from being too soupy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Utica, New York, USA
Living In: Simi Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2004
I didnt care for this recipe. It was ok, but not alot of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pantry Raid Chicken Enchilada Casserole

See how to make a quick-and-easy, cheesy Mexican casserole.

Easy Chile Chicken Enchilada Casserole

Try this quick and easy green chile chicken enchilada casserole.

King Ranch Chicken Casserole

See how to make a cheesy chicken and corn tortilla casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States