Chicken Frittata Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 30, 2015
Made this dish for 4 servings in a skillet. Instead of chicken I used cooked portugese sausage, and asparagus. I sautéed the mushrooms, onions, and asparagus, allowing them to steam a little before adding to the large bowl to mix. I added the cheese last so it wouldn't stick to the sides of the bowl. I think I should have drained the juices from the veggies but didn't want to lose the flavor so the next time I may cut some of the milk. I would also increase the cheese amount as well, maybe mix up the types of cheese. The recipe was also a little bland. I added pepper later and the dish was delicious topped with salsa. The cooking time was also off. I cooked it for maybe about 40 min. Overall, definitely a keeper with some tweaking here and there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2015
I made this recipe last night. I added another cup of broccoli and baked it in a lasagna pan. I also added more salt and pepper threw in some leftover sausage diced up. I added 15 minutes to the cooking time and it came out very good. It was even better the second night. Next time I will add garlic to the boiling potatoes and some fresh herbs to the saute pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ObeyGreatness79
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2014
Add salt!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2012
I was also concerned that this dish might be bland, and do wish that I had added a little salt and pepper to the eggs before pouring them over the solid mixture. Without that, though, it was actually pretty flavorful, but I did a couple of things a little differently from the recipe. Used olive oil instead of butter and only a teaspoon. I also used celery root instead of potatoes. That, in itself, really makes this an amazing dish. The other thing I did was add about an ounce of a combination of fresh herbs -- thyme, oregano, and rosemary. This was definitely a dish to make again, but leave yourself some time. The other reviewers were right about this taking longer than 25 minutes to make. I baked mine at 400 degrees but it took 55 minutes before it was finished.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
Easy and tasty -- very easy way to use leftovers and serve a filling brunch to a lot of people. I omitted the mushrooms, used leftover baked potatoes and broccoli, and added some frozen spinach. I made enough for about 12 people and put it in two pans to bake. It took about 35 minutes and I had to turn the oven up (although my oven temp may have been inaccurate.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2010
I didn't enjoy this dish at all, there were way too many potatoes and the broccoli made it taste funny. The whole eggs idea was good , but I used less than on the recipe and it still took forever to bake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Gagan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by inounvme
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
I halfed the ingredients as only two of us will eat this creation. The potaoes were omitted, for me it's just a little much. I used chicken and a little breakfast sausage because all the reviews have additional seasonings listed. This took about 40 minutes to cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by inounvme

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lansdowne, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2009
I anticipated that it might be bland so I added about 1.5 Tbsp of thyme and a few shakes of hot sauce. I'm glad I did. Baking time 50 - 55 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2008
This is a good recipe, but i like to add tons of random spices and start mine on the stove.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2008
I experienced the same timing problem when baking the frittata. 50 minutes was a good time. I can confirm that you will need a large bowl to mix everything together and the cake pan is also a good idea. I thought the dish was very delicious and so did my husband but we also used a fully cooked and marinated sundried tomato and basil turkey breast instead of the chicken and that gave it a wonderful flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Potato and Pepper Frittata

See how to make an amazing potato and pepper lunch or brunch treat.

Artichoke Chicken

Baked chicken with a cheesy, creamy sauce and artichoke hearts.

King Ranch Chicken Casserole I

Check out this Texan-inspired chicken casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States