Chicken Fried Venison Steaks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2008
I loved this recipe! the coating was crispy, the meat succulent and tender, and the gravy was divine. I am not a fan of chicken fried recipes, but this almost reminded me of a schnitzel, and was heavenly in every mouthful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wsf

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ogden, Utah, USA
Living In: Riverdale, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2009
I thought this recipe was great! the breadcrumb/cornmeal mix was yummy and the carmelized onion was tasty and nice for presentation. I served over white rice and doubled the milk for the gravy since I had plenty of bread crumb mixture left. husband said it was interesting and different (than other chicken fried venison he'd had) but definitely good. I would even try frying veggies in this mix. I did think the egg/milk mixture was a little runny and I would have liked to taste more of the pepper sauce so I'd cut back on the milk there next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
I am always looking for new recipes for venison, my kids wouldn't know what beef tastes like. Once done cooking the onions I put them in a separate bowl because my son loves gravy but hates onions. Then, we were able to add however much onions that we wanted to our steaks. This is a keeper in our family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Herrick, Illinois, USA
Living In: Beecher City, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by 1gdcowgrl gone
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
Oh, Deer!! These were fantastic steaks. Tender and tasty. I don't usually measure unless I'm baking but opted to do so with this recipe as it was my first time cooking venison and I didn't want to screw this up. I made a salt water brine and soaked my venison steaks for 4 hours prior to preparing them. I had 4 steaks and barely had enough of the breading mixture for all 4, so there wasn't any left for the gravy. Cooked these in my electric skillet at 325 degrees, 4 minutes per side and didn't crowd the skillet (that lowers the oil's temperature and affects your final outcome) I've never caramelized onions in hot oil, so I skipped that part. I caramelize using the low and slow method. I opted to make a simple bechamel sauce since I had no bread crumbs left. This was loved by the whole family and I tell you....I don't want another plain ol' chicken fried steak. I want mine to be made with venison from now on. Thanks so much for this recipe and for showing my husband that deer meat can be delicious when cooked properly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 1gdcowgrl gone
Home Town: Marlow, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
Very good! This was a different way to prepare the vinison cube steak I had and we all loved it. The gravy came out really thick but I just added more milk to the mixture. I will be using this recipe again here soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
Thank you deer cook, it was delicious! We used masa instead of cornmeal because that was what we had and it was great. We will be making this until out freezer is empty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
My husband loved our fresh, fresh, fresh venison when I prepared venison steak according to this recipe. However, he added more hot (Louisiana cayenne pepper) sauce to it as he was eating. So, for people like my husband, double the hot sauce addition. For those of us with more tender palates, the amount called for is just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2009
I have been making a variation of this recipe for years. I don't use cornmeal and instead bread the steaks with flour. I also make plain white gravy. Mashed potatoes on the side is excellant. Everyone in my family loves this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dena

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Temple, Texas, USA
Living In: Stanton, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
Family went nuts for this recipe - I am not the biggest fan of venison but I do like saving money when they get a deer. This made it much more tolerable for me to eat. I am sure I will make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
A new recipe for the menu rotation. We have LOTS of deer meat (that's the way we say it in the Ozarks) in the freezer. Never know what to do with ham steaks. Great! I just used regular flour for the gravy...didn't have any of the breadcrumb/cornmeal left after dredging. Good flavor. Didn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MRSLAURIE84

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Linton, Indiana, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Fried Chicken Tenders

See how to make tender breaded chicken fingers with dipping sauce.

Chicken Fried Chicken

Have the kids help you make this tasty fried chicken recipe.

Better Than Best Fried Chicken

Discover the secret ingredient that makes this fried chicken the best.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States