Chicken Fried Venison Steaks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
Very good! This was a different way to prepare the vinison cube steak I had and we all loved it. The gravy came out really thick but I just added more milk to the mixture. I will be using this recipe again here soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2009
I followed this pretty closely and it is pretty much inedible. Way too much cornmeal and the gravy turned out thick as paste. I have to find something else for dinner now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
Family went nuts for this recipe - I am not the biggest fan of venison but I do like saving money when they get a deer. This made it much more tolerable for me to eat. I am sure I will make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2009
I have been making a variation of this recipe for years. I don't use cornmeal and instead bread the steaks with flour. I also make plain white gravy. Mashed potatoes on the side is excellant. Everyone in my family loves this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dena

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Temple, Texas, USA
Living In: Stanton, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2009
Pretty good. Almost like fish fry batter. I can't make gravy to save my life so we left it in the pan. Pretty sure it would have been a little plain. I liked it better than the think and greasy crust that most chicken fried steaks have but my husband prefers the crust that feels like you swallowed a brick. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2009
I thought this recipe was great! the breadcrumb/cornmeal mix was yummy and the carmelized onion was tasty and nice for presentation. I served over white rice and doubled the milk for the gravy since I had plenty of bread crumb mixture left. husband said it was interesting and different (than other chicken fried venison he'd had) but definitely good. I would even try frying veggies in this mix. I did think the egg/milk mixture was a little runny and I would have liked to taste more of the pepper sauce so I'd cut back on the milk there next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2008
I loved this recipe! the coating was crispy, the meat succulent and tender, and the gravy was divine. I am not a fan of chicken fried recipes, but this almost reminded me of a schnitzel, and was heavenly in every mouthful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wsf

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ogden, Utah, USA
Living In: Riverdale, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2008
This was really good. However my whole family hunts so we have a lot of wild meat. (which is the healthiest for you) The way we prepare our venison and elk steaks is the way we would do a beef steak, We spead it with olive oil,using a pastry brush, shake on our seasonings,let set about ten minutes, place them on the preheated grill seasoned side down, brush top side with olive oil and shake on seasonings. Only grill each side for 5 - 8 minutes, You never want to overcook wild game. It comes out delicious this way and very moist, (unless you overcook it) Wild game has not got a lot of fat, it is very lean and very healthy because of that. Some people feel, that because it is wild, it needs to be cooked a long time, not true! Rare to med rare is the best for wild game.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prairie City, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-18 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

The Best Chicken Fried Steak

See how to make real Southern-style chicken-fried steak with creamy gravy.

Fried Chicken Tenders

See how to make tender breaded chicken fingers with dipping sauce.

Chicken Fried Chicken

Have the kids help you make this tasty fried chicken recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States