Chicken Fried Venison Steaks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
My husband loved our fresh, fresh, fresh venison when I prepared venison steak according to this recipe. However, he added more hot (Louisiana cayenne pepper) sauce to it as he was eating. So, for people like my husband, double the hot sauce addition. For those of us with more tender palates, the amount called for is just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
Thank you deer cook, it was delicious! We used masa instead of cornmeal because that was what we had and it was great. We will be making this until out freezer is empty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
My husband tried this recipe. The breaded venison was very good and the gravy was tasty. The only negative comment is that the gravy is ugly - ugly - ugly. It was thick and lump. We will bread the venison again, but not make that gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
This is definitely a filling winter weather meal! I used white/wheat flour in place of the cornmeal (using what I had on hand), I also used canola oil in place of the veg oil and used onion powder in place of the sliced onion (boyfriend won't touch onions!). The meal came out great and I would try again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Willsboro, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
Good recipe, unfortunately my wife and I did not enjoy the venison steaks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2011
Everything was very tastey and since I field dress and butcher my own deer, you couldn't even tell that it was venison. For the hot sauce, I used sirachi. It's the perfect heat without an overwhelming hot sauce taste. I toasted the remaining crumbs and used the left over egg/milk mixture plus some additional milk to make the gravy. The flavor was fine but the texture wasn't right. Too gritty. I might use a little of the bread crumb mixture along with some flour the next time I make this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Auburn Hills, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by 1gdcowgrl gone
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
Oh, Deer!! These were fantastic steaks. Tender and tasty. I don't usually measure unless I'm baking but opted to do so with this recipe as it was my first time cooking venison and I didn't want to screw this up. I made a salt water brine and soaked my venison steaks for 4 hours prior to preparing them. I had 4 steaks and barely had enough of the breading mixture for all 4, so there wasn't any left for the gravy. Cooked these in my electric skillet at 325 degrees, 4 minutes per side and didn't crowd the skillet (that lowers the oil's temperature and affects your final outcome) I've never caramelized onions in hot oil, so I skipped that part. I caramelize using the low and slow method. I opted to make a simple bechamel sauce since I had no bread crumbs left. This was loved by the whole family and I tell you....I don't want another plain ol' chicken fried steak. I want mine to be made with venison from now on. Thanks so much for this recipe and for showing my husband that deer meat can be delicious when cooked properly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 1gdcowgrl gone
Home Town: Marlow, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
I am always looking for new recipes for venison, my kids wouldn't know what beef tastes like. Once done cooking the onions I put them in a separate bowl because my son loves gravy but hates onions. Then, we were able to add however much onions that we wanted to our steaks. This is a keeper in our family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Herrick, Illinois, USA
Living In: Beecher City, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
A new recipe for the menu rotation. We have LOTS of deer meat (that's the way we say it in the Ozarks) in the freezer. Never know what to do with ham steaks. Great! I just used regular flour for the gravy...didn't have any of the breadcrumb/cornmeal left after dredging. Good flavor. Didn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MRSLAURIE84

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Linton, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
Very good! This was a different way to prepare the vinison cube steak I had and we all loved it. The gravy came out really thick but I just added more milk to the mixture. I will be using this recipe again here soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Fried Chicken

Have the kids help you make this tasty fried chicken recipe.

Fried Chicken Tenders

See how to make tender breaded chicken fingers with dipping sauce.

Better Than Best Fried Chicken

Discover the secret ingredient that makes this fried chicken the best.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States