Chicken Fried Steak with Cream Pork Sausage Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2014
This was the best tasting chicken fried steak I have ever tasted! !! My husband wanted more. ...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2014
The breading was delish! I refrigerated the steaks after breading for about an hour to make sure it stuck. Cannot give it a 5 as I was in a time crunch and used packaged peppered gravy mix. Next time, and yes, there will be a next time, I will make the gravy as the recipe suggests. Definitely a hit with me & the Mr.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2014
Tasted great but lots of cleanup after.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
My son wanted this for his birthday. I followed directions exactly. It was so awful, we and our guests took all but 2 bites and tossed it. Think I'll look for another recipe. So disappointing and sad and costly. Such a waste of everything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2012
I must confess that I just used the gravy portion of the recipe and it was delicious! Wouldn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Living In: Caledonia, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2012
It was "OK". Just like all other recipes that require a coating, I could not get a nice thick coat. Alot of it came off during the frying process. It was very messy to make and we all agreed I shouldn't make it again. I'm sure if you know how to coat food properly it would be good. The taste was not bad but not fantastic either. Disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
Good but very rich. Next time I'll use less garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Brown Hollar

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bessemer City, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Midland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
Not wowed by this. The breading was good, although my family prefers a bit more salt. I guess we are just used to the traditional cube steak version. The steak tenderloin version here is just too strong a beef taste. I like a more mellow beef flavor for this particular dish. Sticking with cube steak next time, but will use the breading recipe again with more salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BUTTERFLI782

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2011
I made this with Bob's Red Mill gluten-free all purpose flour and cube steak. My kids and husband GOBBLED IT UP!! I used the same recipe to make chicken fried chicken breast for me, which I gobbled up. Since we don't do dairy, we skipped on the gravy, but it was still AWESOME! This will definitely be our go-to for chicken fried foods!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kimberley Moore
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
This was AWESOME! I added some cayenne for a little kick, I think 1/2 tsp...wonderful! This was the first time I have made chicken fried steak and this will be my go-to recipe from now on! Thanks for sharing this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberley Moore

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Guthrie, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

The Best Chicken Fried Steak

See how to make real Southern-style chicken-fried steak with creamy gravy.

Country-Fried Steak and Milk Gravy

See how to make a tasty Southern staple: chicken-fried steak and creamy gravy.

How to Make Buttermilk Fried Chicken

Chef John’s buttermilk fried chicken is impossibly crispy and tasty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States