Chicken Fried Steak III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2014
I have made this recipe several times and it tastes great! Tends to be a flakier crust than the local restaurants that specialize in chicken fried everything (I'm in Texas), but I like it better that way. Makes a giant mess, and I sometimes have to increase the amount of eggs to keep the egg coating thin enough to (1) coat all the pieces and (2) not be so heavy that the coating falls off the meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2014
We really enjoyed this for dinner. I didn't change anything other than throwing all the spices in the flour rather than adding them to the gravy it just seemed easier that way and I sliced some into strips so the kids could have steak fingers. No problems with the breading falling off and all around yummy chicken fried steak recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladybuggs5224

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pueblo, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
Excellant and very easy. This will go into regular rotation. I changed the spices to what I like but this is a very easy recipe to adjust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LESLIEANNA83

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, Kansas, USA
Living In: Weeping Water, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2013
love it. my family enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
I believe this is the first recipe from this site that I was disappointed in. Although the steaks themselves were okay, the Egg/Flour was close to impossible to deal with. There are no words to describe the gravy!! I'm not that experienced a cook so I follow a recipe the first time to a T, but even I knew(but still foolish'ly did) 2 tbsp of chilli powder was way too much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
I love reading the reviews that are posted on these recipes. For me they are very helpful. I changed this recipe in the followidng ways, I used only 2 lbs of meat and then I mixed up my flour mixture and took 1/2 cup of that and added it to my 3 eggs. I also diluted the pasty egg mixture with a small amount of milk to a med paste consistancy. Lastly I only added 1/4 tsp of the cayenne to the flour mixture and used garlic powder instead of garlic salt. My son, who is 10, will be the first one to point out if somethigang is too salty. Turned out pretty good and had no problems with coating sticking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2012
Good recipe will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2011
This is the first Allrecipes recipe that I did not like. I followed the recipe, except only used 2 teaspoons of salt like other reviewers suggested. The breading did NOT stay on the steak. The gravy was very salty, even after cutting it down so much. The breading had very good flavor, so it is a shame that it wouldn't stay on the steak. My sons tried, but couldn't eat more than a few bites. My husband thought it was okay, but too salty. I won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dgreiff

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aledo, Illinois, USA
Living In: Maricopa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
I have been making this recipe for at least the last two years and We love it so much that I also use it for Chicken breasts! I never have a problem with the coating sticking to the meat and this has to be my familys favorite meal! We like it so much I went to see what other delish recipes Gail123 may have but this is the only one. Come on Gail post some more of you fab recipes!! I usually serve this over rice or mashed potato. The gravy is fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2010
I did enjoy this recipe but i found 2 tablespoons of salt *ouch* i only used 1 teaspoon, still plenty flavor with the cayenne, garlic, celery salt & chilli
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Chicken Fried Steak

See how to make real Southern-style chicken-fried steak with creamy gravy.

Garlic Chicken Fried Chicken

See how to make garlicky chicken breasts cooked chicken fried steak-style.

How to Make Buttermilk Fried Chicken

Chef John’s buttermilk fried chicken is impossibly crispy and tasty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States