Chicken Fried Steak III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2007
I just made this tonight, and it was delicious. I took the other reviewers' recommendations and reduced the chili powder. I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2007
I made a composite of this recipe. Instead of putting the majority of the seasonings in the gravy, I put them all in the flour mix. Doing that and following the steps of dredging in flour, egg, then flour again, this made the most fantastic chicken fried steak I have ever had! My fiance loved this, as well, claiming it was also the best he'd ever had. It was definitely awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fontana, California, USA
Living In: League City, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2007
Very very good. I did not use the beef boullion but it was still very good. It was almost as good as the "saltine" based recipes. I used paula deens house seasoning mix recipe (on food network) in the flour mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Ladysmith, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2007
This is a good basic recipe but there were parts I left out. I tried to dip it in the flour mix with eggs but it ended up being such a goo glob that I ended up adding water to it to get it to work. I don't like a coating of eggs underneath the batter. Also, under the advice of others I didn't put in the hot pepper spices in the gravy. The gravy turned out great otherwise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tangastar

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2007
I was curious about the gravy to this recipe and why add flour to the eggs so I thought I would give this a try. I would not recommend adding flour to the eggs and the gravy was a huge flop to all of us and ended up making my regular cream gravy after tossing this gravy. The steak came out ok but will stick to my regular recipe. For those that had trouble keeping the breading on the steak, make sure your oil is hot enough, about 350 degrees.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilemon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Afton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Larkspur, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2007
This is the first time I ever made chicken fried steak. The steak part was delicious, the coating stayed on. I used Canola oil to cook with. Next time tho, use 1/2 tsp cayenne pepper and way less salt. Omit the garlic and celery salt. The gravy was too salty. Also, less chili powder, it made it too spicy. I've served it with mashed potatoes (with butter and vanilla yogurt) instead of sour cream and milk. Next time I make it, I'll make country gravy instead. Otherwise, the meat came out perfectly. Thank You.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane P.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2007
Yummy, but careful not to overcook====can be very tough if you do!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2006
A little time consuming. When frying, had a little problem having the coating to stay on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2006
I used this recipe on pork chops, and it worked great! I didn't have beef bouillon on hand, so I used chicken stock for the gravy and it was still a huge hit with my family. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cupertino, California, USA
Living In: Concord, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2006
Very salty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Chicken Fried Steak

See how to make real Southern-style chicken-fried steak with creamy gravy.

How to Make Buttermilk Fried Chicken

Chef John’s buttermilk fried chicken is impossibly crispy and tasty.

Garlic Chicken Fried Chicken

See how to make garlicky chicken breasts cooked chicken fried steak-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States