Chicken Fried Steak III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2008
This recipe was a bit too spicy for the kiddos. I only used a dash of cayenne. My husband loves it. We live in a town with a diner specializing in chicken fried steak but he would rather me make this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny Williams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2008
This is a keeper. The only thing I did was reduce the cayenne pepper and chili powder. A little messy to make. The family did like it, so I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2008
Guess I should've read the reviews, but I was in a rush. The breading really did not stick to the steak, I found the breading itself to be lacking some flavour as well. I appreciate the recipe but not sure if I'll try it again with the advice in the reviews..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2008
great' i liked the flour egg dip.i think one should add the salt and pepper to the dredge flour, great gravy,will try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Harvey, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2008
My husband compared this recipe to the taste of his grandmother's chicken fried steak-which is a GOOD thing! I added a little more chili pepper than listed on accident, buit it tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by apaige232

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roswell, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2008
Made this last night and Mom & hubby loved it. I thought it was just okay but who can resist rave reviews. I followed others suggestions and skipped the cayenne and chili and dredged the meat in seasoned flour, egg and flour again. Even though I decreased the flour, the gravy was still thick as glue so keep a little liquid handy for thinning. I was out of potatoes but they loved the gravy over rice. Thx for submitting this one Gail.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2008
I tried this a month ago, and never again. It was so messy to make and the steak didn't get cooked all the way thr. YUCK.............
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lexington, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2008
Folks, I haven't tried this particular recipe, but repeatedly see that people have trouble with the breading falling off. I did too until I read that your heat is too high. You need to cook it lower and slower!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Sherman Oaks, California, USA
Living In: Otis, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2008
Not bad, but not exactly the "wow" taste I was looking for. Did not use the boullion in the gravy. Gravy was very thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2008
This was WAY too salty. We even left out almost half the salt it called for. I would make the meat again (not the gravy) but not put more than a sprinkle of reg salt in with the flour. The cayanne pepper gave it the right kick. With a little tweaking (and without the salt!) this will be tons better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CARRIEMC

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 31-40 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

The Best Chicken Fried Steak

See how to make real Southern-style chicken-fried steak with creamy gravy.

How to Make Buttermilk Fried Chicken

Chef John’s buttermilk fried chicken is impossibly crispy and tasty.

Garlic Chicken Fried Chicken

See how to make garlicky chicken breasts cooked chicken fried steak-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States