Chicken Fried Steak III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2008
This is a keeper. The only thing I did was reduce the cayenne pepper and chili powder. A little messy to make. The family did like it, so I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2008
Guess I should've read the reviews, but I was in a rush. The breading really did not stick to the steak, I found the breading itself to be lacking some flavour as well. I appreciate the recipe but not sure if I'll try it again with the advice in the reviews..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2008
great' i liked the flour egg dip.i think one should add the salt and pepper to the dredge flour, great gravy,will try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Harvey, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2008
My husband compared this recipe to the taste of his grandmother's chicken fried steak-which is a GOOD thing! I added a little more chili pepper than listed on accident, buit it tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by apaige232

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roswell, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2008
Made this last night and Mom & hubby loved it. I thought it was just okay but who can resist rave reviews. I followed others suggestions and skipped the cayenne and chili and dredged the meat in seasoned flour, egg and flour again. Even though I decreased the flour, the gravy was still thick as glue so keep a little liquid handy for thinning. I was out of potatoes but they loved the gravy over rice. Thx for submitting this one Gail.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2008
I tried this a month ago, and never again. It was so messy to make and the steak didn't get cooked all the way thr. YUCK.............
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lexington, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2008
Folks, I haven't tried this particular recipe, but repeatedly see that people have trouble with the breading falling off. I did too until I read that your heat is too high. You need to cook it lower and slower!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Sherman Oaks, California, USA
Living In: Otis, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2008
Not bad, but not exactly the "wow" taste I was looking for. Did not use the boullion in the gravy. Gravy was very thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2008
This was WAY too salty. We even left out almost half the salt it called for. I would make the meat again (not the gravy) but not put more than a sprinkle of reg salt in with the flour. The cayanne pepper gave it the right kick. With a little tweaking (and without the salt!) this will be tons better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CARRIEMC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2008
Great steak, awful gravy! The gravy is so salty you can't taste anything else in the meal - it is more like taco seasoning. I love spicy dishes, but this tastes like cheap fast food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Chicken Fried Steak

See how to make real Southern-style chicken-fried steak with creamy gravy.

Garlic Chicken Fried Chicken

See how to make garlicky chicken breasts cooked chicken fried steak-style.

How to Make Buttermilk Fried Chicken

Chef John’s buttermilk fried chicken is impossibly crispy and tasty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States