Chicken Fried Steak III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2010
I did enjoy this recipe but i found 2 tablespoons of salt *ouch* i only used 1 teaspoon, still plenty flavor with the cayenne, garlic, celery salt & chilli
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2010
First of all I used chicken breast instead of steak, I just pounded it out a little to be more healthy. I also used a mix of crushed saltine crackers and panko bread crumbs to bread it. This recipes is easy and simple to make. One of my favorite comfort foods! Thank you everyone at allrecipes.com for helping me become a better cook!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by athenax311

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2010
Gail, this is the perfect comfort food! Pair it with good hearty roasted garlic mashed tatoes and you set! Crispy,creamy,salty,all the major food group are represented for a rib sticking dinner. Thanks again Gail,This Rocks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty Cakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2010
A first timer for Chicken Fried Steak but not to frying or gravy. Followed the recipe and found that it called for FAR too much flour for the gravy. The flour-then egg-then flour really helped the chicken fried steak and next time I will only brown some of the remaining flour before adding the milk/spice mixture for the gravy. After adding too much flour, I simply added a lot of water to make a nice gravy and will keep the rest for some leftover fried chicken that I have to eat tomorrow night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Runnergirl
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2010
I adjusted to serve 2. The prep of meat and frying ( used crisco) was very simple, crust stayed on and had a nice crispy texture. I did not care for the gravy, will keep looking for another one. I served with egg noodles and Sauteed Garlic Asparagus also fun this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Runnergirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cypress, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
Best chicken fried steak recipe I have ever made or tasted. Adding the flour to the egg wash made all the difference in the world. I did use blackened seasoning instead of cayenne pepper (didn't have on hand) plus some onion powder, garlic powder, paprika, & pepper to the flour. Excellent recipe, thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
Much better than other recipes I tried. I foolishly thought you needed to soak the steak in a batter to get a good coating. Live and learn! =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by glittergirl94

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Franklin, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
I used this recipe as my FIRST attempt at Chicken Fried Steak. Overall, for my first time, it came out decent. I followed the suggestions and breaded with flour, egg & then flour again. I also took the suggestion of a reviewer and fried low and slow and my breading did well at staying on. The gravy had a bite to it. Hubby LOVED it. I had a hard time getting gravy to thicken, but I think that has more to do with my experience is making gravy, rather than the recipe. Overall, it's a good recipe. I have alot more to learn with the art of Chicken Fried Steak. Lucky for me, my hubby doesn't mind being my taste tester...haha!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon G.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
Did not cook right. I didn't have any eggs so I substituted mayo and water. The first batch was a disaster. The third batch was just plain breading and tasted good. This was just not worth the bother.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Leakey, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
The breading was far too salty and the gravy recipe must be off on the chili powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

The Best Chicken Fried Steak

See how to make real Southern-style chicken-fried steak with creamy gravy.

How to Make Buttermilk Fried Chicken

Chef John’s buttermilk fried chicken is impossibly crispy and tasty.

Garlic Chicken Fried Chicken

See how to make garlicky chicken breasts cooked chicken fried steak-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States